Bargain Buys / My Favorite Things

Battle of the Eye Makeup Removers

One thing I cannot go to sleep without doing is removing my makeup.  When I first started wearing makeup, my mom told me her one and only rule.  Always remove it thoroughly at the end of the day.  I mean, it can’t be good for your skin (especially the delicate eye area) to be under a layer of stuff while you sleep, right?  A good eye makeup remover should be able to get rid of anything with minimal effort, and definitely not sting or irritate your eyes.

Lancome’s Bi-facil is the HG of all eye makeup removers for many people.  It removes the most stubborn waterproof mascara with a few swipes, and more importantly, doesn’t irritate my sensitive eyes.  I thought I would never stray from this…..

Until my friend recommended Lumene’s Waterproof Eye Makeup Remover to me.  I’m telling you, this works/looks/feels exactly the same as Lancome (they even both start with L’s!  not that that was a factor for me or anything…..).  They both come in blue plastic bottles, they both have that dual formula that you shake before using, and most importantly, they are both HG material. 

Differences

*Note: before I dive into the differences, keep in mind that this is the WATERPROOF version of Lumene’s remover.  They also make a non-waterproof formula, which I don’t think is as effective.

-Lumene’s is fragrance free, while Lancome’s has a nice rose scent.   

-Packaging: for me, the only flaw with Lancome’s remover is the packaging.  The top looks like this:

You push down and twist to open it, which is a little annoying to me at times.  Because the opening and cap are both flat, the remover spreads out all over both of them, and sometimes leaks into my luggage.

Lumene’s cap is a simple twist and lock cap.  I like that I can definitely feel when it’s closed, and it never leaks.

-Size: Lancome is 4.2 fl oz, Lumene’s is 3.4 fl oz

-PRICE: prepare to be blown away.  Lancome’s remover is $26.  That’s a little steep, but I’m perfectly willing to pay that much for a remover that doesn’t irritate my eyes, and makes taking off eye makeup effortless.  BUT.  Lumene’s, which does the exact same thing sans nice rose petal fragrance is only $6.

Verdict: Hmm…think I gotta go with Lumene.  You can purchase it at Rite Aid (I’m not sure if CVS and Walgreens carry it too, but they might)

10 thoughts on “Battle of the Eye Makeup Removers

  1. Pingback: December Highlights «

  2. Pingback: Lumene’s Radiant Dual Serum Gives Me Sweet Dreams «

  3. Ooooh, I have been resisting shelling out the $$ for Bi-Facial but I have to admit the green L’Oreal isn’t *quite* doing it for my eye makeup all the time. I’ll definitely scope this out next!

  4. Pingback: Road Trip « Makeup Morsels

  5. Pingback: Lumene Lineup Part 2: Sensitive Touch Removers « Makeup Morsels

  6. Pingback: Deep Cleanse Me, DHC « Makeup Morsels

  7. Pingback: Makeup Morsels Loves Majolica Majorca, A Mascara Review « Makeup Morsels

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

