Drugstore / Lips

Nivea…I Had Such High Hopes

Thankfully, my monster headache went away after I took a long shower.  Afterwards, I had a yummy drink from Phoenix.  It’s their mixed fruits tapioca.  Cold milk+just a little shaved ice+tapioca+chopped watermelon, honeydew, and mango.  Needless to say, I felt a lot better after that.

One cup of pure deliciousness. 

Something else I forgot to mention from yesterday was the staying power of those fabulous lippies.  And I am happy to report that the staying time is excellent.  Today, I wore Berry in the morning (morning being a relative term as I didn’t drag myself out of bed until 10), had a delicious late lunch of chicken, eggplant, string beans, and rice, and then did a lip check.  And it was still there!

On a more depressing note, I was browsing the drugstore for a nighttime lip treatment yesterday.  (And I found one!  But I’ll use it for another week or so before I review just to make sure it is truly amazing).  I also picked up this Nivea lipbalm since it doesn’t contain petroleum.  I’m still loving my Shiseido Therapind, but it’s not exactly accessible to me from half a world away, you know?

I’ve heard that there’s a dark blue Nivea and a light blue.  I think this one’s the dark blue, but I’m not sure.  It’s the Kiss of Moisture Essential Lip Care one.

The lipbalm itself is colorless, and smells faintly of soap and something sweet.  Yummy.  Plus it’s made in Germany.  But that’s where my love for it ends.

Nivea, it pains me to say this, but I’m taking you back to the drugstore.  And they had better take you back because I have your receipt, and I want my $3. 

First of all, the texture.  I don’t know if this is because it’s winter and the stick has solidified, but it felt like I was rubbing rubbery wax onto my lips.  Plus I had the heater on, so I don’t think the cold was at fault.  The balm wanted to stay where it was in the tube instead of going onto my lips.  I probably ended up exfoliating more than I moisturized.  When I finally got a decent layer of moisture on my lips, which wasn’t much, I decided to test the staying power.  After all, maybe it was the highly moisturizing balm I’d been looking for my whole life.  No such luck.  The stuff wore off in about half an hour. 

Of course, being the optimist I am, I decided to give it another chance.  But you know, some things really never change.  The second time went exactly like the first, and I gave up.  I’m sorry Nivea Kiss of Moisture Lip Care, but I’m breaking up with you indefinitely.

Nivea does have some very nice products, but this one just didn’t do it for me.

*Note: my lips are extremely dry, but if you’re the type of person who has normal lips and doesn’t need to have lipbalm on 24/7, this might work a lot better for you than it did for me.

My rating: D

8 thoughts on “Nivea…I Had Such High Hopes

  1. That drink looks really yummy, I love tapioca! ;D
    Glad to know that you’re feeling so much better now.

    Anywho I’ve tried Nivea lipbalms like the strawberry one but unfortunately they don’t work for me as well.

  2. Huh, I really like Nivea Kiss of Moisture! Not as much as my beloved cherry Chapstick of course, but not much beats that :P It’s not terribly moisturizing for me either, but I like the way it smells and I’m used to reapplying lip balm about twenty times a day anyway, so I don’t mind.
    Mmm, that drink sounds so good! I’m craving one and I don’t even know what it tastes like xD

    • My lips are chronically dry, so if you have normal lips, then I could see this working well for you, but I think it made mine ever worse. I usually like to use things I only have to reapply about 3 times a day. I do agree that it smells nice though. haha, if you have a Phoenix anywhere near you you should definitely try it. So yummy :)

  3. Pingback: Intense Night Lip Therapy with La Roche-Posay « Makeup Morsels

  4. Pingback: Does Nutritic Lips Match Up to Ceralip? « Makeup Morsels

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

