EOTD (Eye of the Day)

EOTD: Smokey Sans Liner

I’ve been relying on this look a lot this quarter.  Whenever I’m flat out exhausted, my eyelids start doing weird things.  Uneven eyelids make it impossible for me to line my upper lashline, so I try to do makeup that gives my eyes more definition.  And what makes your eyes stand out?  Smokey shadows!  Of course, since this a day look, this is like the baby version of a smokey eye.

Click to read on

When I first bought this eyeshadow a couple of years ago, I was kind of disappointed with the shadow quality.  None of them are very pigmented, and the white is slightly gritty.  I’ve found that brushes don’t work very well with these shadows, which is fine by me because it means I get to be artsy.  Finger painting time!

1. First, I filled in the inner 2/3 of my lid with the gray.  It’s probably the smoothest out of the 3 shadows, but the pigmentation is total suckage.  So don’t be phased, just go over it 7 or 8 times, and you’ll end up with something like this *Note: (if you own this trio, do not attempt this step with the white.  You will eventually give up and top it off with the gray):

2. Next, I smoked out the outer corner with the black.  No, it does not have to look neat.

3. I blended the gray and the black together with the white, which also added a teensy bit of glitter to the look.

4. Lastly, I finished it off with a quick curl from my eyelash curler, and lots of Max Factor 2000 Calorie mascara.

All done!  Definition and smokiness without any liner :D

13 thoughts on “EOTD: Smokey Sans Liner

  1. Aww, this is cute :) I’d have to throw in some white, though! (Superfair skin + matte gray smokey eye = need for subtle white hilight.) My everyday eye as of late has been a subtle neutral smokey — if I remember, I’ll post it sometime! It’s nowhere near as pretty as this.

    Also, I 2nd Jess’ comment. Your lashes look great!

    • thanks hun! ooh ya, forgot about the hilight. I think it does tend to pull the look together, but I’ve been keeping things super simple lately. I’ll be on the lookout for your subtle smokey look, I’m sure it’s gorgeous. I was thinking about picking up the l’oreal lash boosting serum at cvs today since it was 40% off, but I think I’ll wait for the results of your giveaway :D who knows? I might win *fingers crossed* hope you’re having a great week!

  2. Lovely eotd!! My lids are always uneven so I never do top liner, but I’ve never really missed it. Your lashes are so, so pretty! I get the hype over that MF mascara now! Sad I missed it while it was still available here!

    • thank youu :D You really rock the bottom liner in your EOTDs though. I was able to stock up before they discontinued, think I have one tube left. gahh why are all my drugstore HGs discontinuing? not cool. I need to find more prestige granite.

  3. This is really really pretty, and your eyelashes look zomg right now. That said I’m really confused as to what we’re supposed to think about this eyeshadow after this post… >.< hahaha.

    • aw thanks man. well the white really sucks and the black isn’t very pigmented and neither is the gray so if they were individual shadows i’d kind of hate them, but since they come together they work nicely as a trio. I’m on the fence since the quality isn’t great but at the same time I really like this look.

  4. Pingback: April Highlights « Makeup Morsels

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

