Product Reviews / Skincare

Intensive Skincare with Prescriptives

Sometimes my skin just needs that extra bit of TLC, especially in the dead of winter.  Don’t worry, I know it’s not winter right now but I took awhile testing this out.  Remember my long ago trip to CCO?  Well, my mom picked up a Prescriptives kit, but decided not to use the moisturizer.  The Prescriptives Vibrant-C Skin Brightening Cream Moisturizer, to be exact.  Not to be confused with their Lotion Moisturizer.  So she gave it to me!  I love when that happens :D

The texture was really interesting.  When I first looked at it, I expected it to be very fluffy and mousse-like.  It’s actually more of a liquidlike moisturizer, but certainly not as thin as a serum.

I figured I would give this a try, since I was starting to get dry patches, and I needed some heavy moisturization.  And it delivered :D  Now, I don’t know whether the whole ‘skin brightening’ claims hold true, but it definitely made my skin feel very hydrated, and thankfully not oily.  And it also seemed to smooth out my complexion, so that my skin would look more even in tone the next morning.  Now, there is one caveat with this.  It smells disgusting.  I can tolerate a lot of smells, but this is just literally indescribable.  At first, you smell it a bit and think ‘hey, that’s not too bad.’  But then, at second sniff, you definitely notice it.  Luckily, it’s a very light scent, but omg I don’t even know what they put in it to make it smell so awful.  It’s halfway between synthetic and pure urghhh.  The smell disappears in about 20 minutes, and it’s not heavy, but every time I get a whiff I seriously consider pouring a gallon of perfume in there.

Offensive scent aside, I like this a lot as it does a great job moisturizing, is non-irritating, and hasn’t made me break out despite the fact that we’re getting into spring now (and spring in SoCal banishes my dry patches and brings back my regular oily/combo skin).  I also like how my skin looks after I use this, and have become quite adept at not breathing while I apply it on my face.  One thing that should be noted is that there is no ingredient list for this.  I checked the packaging and the website, and couldn’t find it anywhere.  So for those of you with uber-sensitive skin, you might want to pass.

This moisturizer retails for $46 however since Prescriptives isn’t sold at the mall anymore, the only place you can find it is probably CCO.  Therefore, it shouldn’t be too hard to get it for a lot cheaper than that.

My rating: A-

4 thoughts on “Intensive Skincare with Prescriptives

  1. I’ve always been so confused my Prescriptives’ “WE ARE NATURAL AND AIMED AT SENSITIVE SKIN” sort of attitude but lack of ingredients lists for ANYTHING. I can’t try anything without first looking through the ingredients list and going through a mental checklist of stuff I’m allergic to. ;_;

    Glad that it works for you though!

  2. Estee Lauder (which owns Prescriptives, I believe?) also withholds many of their ingredients lists. You can request them by email, which I usually do out of compulsive terror of petrolatum and silicones.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

