Bargain Buys / Base / My Favorite Things

Best Bargain Buys: Face

Well, didn’t get any requests yesterday, so I’m just going to continue on with face products.  Let me know what you guys would like to see tomorrow when you comment though (eyes or tools), ok?  Here we go!

I’m going to admit straight off that I’m not the best person to go recommending face makeup.  I save foundation for special occasions, never wear blush because I look like I’m wearing it anyways, and only apply bronzer when I’m wearing foundation.  As for concealer, I’m thinking of getting TheBalm TimeBalm Concealer soon, but for now I don’t have anything heavy-duty enough to cover my dark circles.

1. Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder : perhaps the one exception to my face makeup rule.  I wear this stuff every day.  Every.  Single.  Day.  Even if I have no eye or lip makeup on, I can guarantee you that I will be wearing this.  I’m thinking of doing a longer review of this sometime, but the short version is that it erases shine, is dirt cheap, and doesn’t have any color (could be good or bad, but I think it would look a little weird if only my t-zone was flawlessly even-toned).  The only issue I have is the packaging, since the cap comes off way too easily.

2. Revlon Beyond Natural Skin Matching Makeup : when I do wear foundation, I like to keep it light and natural.  I know that magically skintone matching foundations sound like complete gimmicks, and yeah, some of them are.  But this one actually matches my skintone exactly, partly because it’s sheer.  yay… :D

That’s it for the face stuff guys.  See, told you I don’t have much to say in this field.  Oh!  One last thing, if you guys have good recommendations for inexpensive loose/pressed powders, please leave them in the comments below.  I would greatly appreciate that :)

5 thoughts on “Best Bargain Buys: Face

  1. Hahaha, girl you’re lucky you don’t have to bother with all the face stuff! I really miss when my skin was so nice I could just slap on sunscreen and set it with some powder. I just started my first venture into liquid foundation (the stupid retin-a is making my skin too dry for mineral makeup which was really accentuating flakies from healing zits and making my face feel dry and tight… hope it’s worth it in the end) and now it’s taking me at least twice as long to do my makeup in the morning.

    I’ve heard so many good things about that Rimmel powder! I usually use the EDM Natural Reflections and I just got the Coastal Scents Silica Spheres which is supposed to be just like the MUFE HD powder. I have a sneaking suspicion they’re both actually too drying and causing backlash oil right now though… so I’m going to have to do some more testing. I did so love the Shu Uemura powder the SA used on me when I had lashes put on for Valentine’s Day but I totally forgot to ask her what she used! =/

    • Oh, I did. My skin used to be so difficult to deal with lol. Luckily, it seems to have calmed down quite a bit this year, which is strange because I have never been this stressed in my life. Which liquid foundation are you using? I’m really glad I found that stuff, saves my butt in the morning. gahh can’t believe Shu is leaving the US

  2. Pingback: Back In Business + Review « Makeup Morsels

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

