Product Reviews / Skincare

Lumene Lineup Part 1: Sensitive Touch Skincare

I’m so glad I decided to wear jeans and a hoodie today.  I thought the weather was going to be like yesterday’s, but the minute I got to class, it started raining.  And that is why it never hurts to be overdressed. 

If you’ve been reading Makeup Morsels for a while, you probably know that Lumene is one of my favorite drugstore skincare lines.  I’ll be reviewing items from their Sensitive Touch line today.  This is a long post, so click to read on!

First up is their Gentle Toner, which is marketed for normal/sensitive/dry skin.  For those of you who are going to ask me ‘what is toner?’ (yes, I anticipated you.  Feel special) I have prepared a short explanation.  If you want a more detailed one, I suggest you look it up as I could go on for a long time.  Toner should remove any traces of stuff your cleanser did not pick up, prep your skin for moisturizer, give a refreshing and smoother/softer feeling post-cleansing, and lastly maintain a balance in your skin (I never understood that last one, but oh well).  Some toners are marketed to further moisturize dry skin, and some give oily skin a mildly astringent effect (and then there are some who argue that astringent toners are not toners at all.  I digress).

So how does the Gentle Toner measure up?  My one complaint is the packaging.  Yes, snap top caps are handy, but this one just didn’t want to cooperate, resulting in a giant toner splash the first time I managed to open it.  But I think I can overlook that because this does work well.  I’ve included toner in my skincare routine since my skin started going bonkers on me in 7th grade.  However, I have only used toners meant for oily skin before, so this was a slightly different experience.  This toner also felt refreshing when I applied it (with a cotton pad), but not in the [I am deep cleaning your skin and squishing the oilies] type way I’m used to.  It felt more cooling/calming.  My skin was nice and smooth after toning.  For those of you who have never used toner, I wouldn’t say it’s a must have.  I’m used to applying my toner every morning though, and I do feel that it makes my skin happier, plus it feels great.  I also love the price, as it’s less than half of what I usually pay for toner. 

Lumene Sensitive Touch Gentle Toner retails for $8.99 (6.8 Fl. Oz.) 

My rating: A

Next is their Instant Relief Serum.  Like the toner, this feels wonderfully cooling when it goes on.  The texture is pretty much your standard serum; a runny moisturizer, and it feels light and fresh on my face.  Once again, though, I do have an issue with the packaging.  The frosted glass feels wonderfully substantial, but I wish that they include a cap.  Even if I wrapped this in a million layers of bubble wrap, chances are it would still make a mess. 

This should be great for those of you who have oily skin, and don’t need anything heavy-duty year-round.  Unfortunately, I do find the price slightly steep for the amount you get (I usually use 2 pumps to cover my face, and I’ve already used up half of this in one month whereas I’m barely making a dent in the other products).  Is it worth is for the money?  I’ll personally pass, since I would mostly likely only use this during summer.

Lumene’s Instant Relief Serum retails for $19.99 (1 Fl. Oz.)

My rating: B-

Third in line are their day and night moisturizers.

I love how these are color coded, but it would be nice if the night moisturizer  had a dark blue cap too, so I could distinguish them from the top.  Both of these are very moisturizing, yet never make me break out.  The Daily Moisturizing Cream and the Comforting Night Cream have extremely similar textures, a medium thick lotion that still feels light going on.  Both absorb very quickly, although I can get a lot more use out of them in the winter.  Even though they don’t clog up my pores or break me out, they still feel a little heavy on my face for summer in SoCal.  But hey, I have yet to find a works-all-12-months-out-of-the-year-moisturizer, and this works fine 3 our of 4 seasons.  I’m definitely pulling these out again as soon as fall rolls around, as they’ll banish the dry patches right away while providing the perfect amount of hydration.

Both retail for $19.99 (1.7 Fl. Oz.)  A little goes a long way, so these should last a good amount of time.

My rating: A-

I’ve been using these for a solid month, and my skin has been buzzing along happily.  As it’s getting hotter (obviously not today), the day moisturizer is beginning to feel too heavy on my face, but it’s been working great so far.  The toner is a bargain buy, the serum I could do without.  As for the Sensitive Touch claims, none of the products irritated my skin, which is sensitive (not so sensitive that I can’t wear chemical spf sunscreens, but sensitive enough that I still have to be careful with the things I put on it).

I’ve seen all of these at my local CVS, but you may or may not have them depending on where you are.  They are all available at Target (online and in select stores) and Sears(online and in select stores).

For those of you who haven’t tried Lumene, look out for the frequent 50% off sales at CVS, which is when I swoop in and make my move ;)  I might even see you there.  Stay tuned for my thoughts on the Sensitive Touch makeup removal items.

Hope everyone’s having a good day!

Love,

Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were sent to me for review purposes.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

9 thoughts on “Lumene Lineup Part 1: Sensitive Touch Skincare

  1. Hmm, very nice reviews!

    The part about toners balancing your skin is because cleansers used to be primarily anionic detergents (soaps) which are alkaline and would mess up the pH of your skin (which is acidic, though I can’t remember how much), so the toner would rebalance the pH. Nowadays most cleansers are already pH-balanced or use cationic detergents instead so toners aren’t really necessary for the balancing. However, I think they can still be great either for adding extra moisture for the dry-skinned, being astringent for the oilier-skinned or more acne-prone, or for adding water-soluble active ingredients (like vitamin C) for those that only use an oil moisturizer (like I used to).

  2. Pingback: Lumene Lineup Part 2: Sensitive Touch Removers « Makeup Morsels

  3. Pingback: April Highlights « Makeup Morsels

  4. Pingback: Last of the Lumene Lineup « Makeup Morsels

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

