Entertainment / Life & Travel

Miscellaneous Monday Morsels 5/3

Hey guys!

The time of exams is swiftly approaching me, but I’m trying not to freak out too much because to be honest, I have no energy left for that.  I had a makeup post all ready to go, and then I remembered it’s Monday.  Do you know what that means?  I get to ramble at you about non-beauty related things.  Miscellaneous Monday Morsels time!

So…where to start?  As usual, I’m going to share a song I’ve been liking lately with you.  I have a feeling that by the end of the month this is going to be way overplayed, and I’m going to hate it.  But for now, lovin it, mainly for the chorus:

 

Also, the other day I opened a book and did some leisure reading, which is extremely unhealthy for me.  I have this addiction to books.  It’s terrible, worse than my addiction to makeup.  It doesn’t matter how good or bad the book is, once I open it, it’s all over.  It could be the most boring book in the world, and I still would not move until I was finished reading that thing.  Luckily, my many years of devouring books have allowed me to become an efficient reader.  Because of this, finishing a book doesn’t suck too much time out of my day, but I’ve still pulled all-nighters unknowingly just to finish very long books in one sitting.  Anyways, back to the book in question.  Over the weekend, my good friend Drallimer recommended a bunch of books to me, and I borrowed Sabriel by Garth Nix from her.  Upon opening it, I realized that I had already read it in lower school, but it was so long ago that I had largely forgotten what happened.  Needless to say, I dove right into it.  And it was good, better than I remembered.  I think there’s this misconception that ‘fantasy’ books, or books with fantasy looking covers are too juvenile and escapist, and all have the same premise/plot, but that’s not necessarily true.  Ok, maybe they’re all a tad bit escapist, but as long as it’s within reason I don’t see anything wrong with that.  And yes, there’s plenty of horrible fantasy books out there, but there are also fantasy books that are good enough to redeem the genre.  I borrowed the second book in the series today, and read it halfway.  I forced myself to put it down when I got home (extraordinarily difficult) because hey I don’t have time to read right now.  Gotta study!  But I’m looking forward to finishing it this weekend once my first exam is over.  It will be my way of celebrating.

That’s all for my Monday ramblings.  Share whatever you’d like to share in the comments!  I have so much fun reading them :D

Love,

Makeup Morsels

10 thoughts on “Miscellaneous Monday Morsels 5/3

  1. i tried to leave a comment back but it wouldn’t let me and i had to refresh the page and then i didn’t want to retype the post… yeah… i personally love juvenile fantasy cuz it’s not super raunchy like “grown up” fantasy is… (with the exception of the Lord of the Rings series) let me know when you finish Lirael!

    • lol just post a new comment underneath. I don’t think you can reply on blogspot unless you get some plugins. aaah LOTR love love love. props to PJ for adapting them so well too. the hobbit is still my favorite though, I can’t wait for that to come out (in like 3 years because they keep freaking delaying it). I got more than halfway through but I’m going to try to keep it closed until euro’s over

  2. I am making love to BoB’s album cover right now. Just thought I’d let you know that. Have you heard Magic off that album!!? His rapping there is SO GOOD :). So much to study, so little time. I hate my life so~ I actually had a really big meltdown today, I hope that will be the first and last of this week. Like you, I must save my energy for more important stuffss! Its gonna be hard though, as I am very emotionally unstable right now. So unstable that I’m afraid that if I let out a chuckle it might escalate into tears. You cant even fathom how much that wasn’t a joke.. I must stay on task and not get sidetracked by Fyrinnae swatches!! ..oops too late. HAHAHA.

    • awkwarrrd. I’ll keep that mental image with me tomorrow. and then I’ll tap you on the shoulder and ask “did it shrink?” nope but I’ll go check it out right now! those suck. Do you know what makes me more emotionally stable? Releasing all my negative energy through fencing. So my dear, my advice to you? LUNGE. I love youu

  3. Duuuuuuuuuuude I am just like that with books! The last book I read (The Demon Under the Microscope, about the discovery and commercialization of the first antibiotics … er… really far more well written and fascinating than it sounds lmao) I totally stayed up until 5am reading. Bad bad bad.

    And OMGGGGG I can’t believe you only just got to the Abhorsen series! I LOVE that trilogy! … I think I read it in middle school?

    For other good reads, try Neil Gaiman’s Stardust and his book with Terry Pratchett Good Omens. I <3 both. Aaaand if you haven't already… Heinlein's Stranger in a Strange Land, Dune, Ender's Game (those two are just so such iconic cult classics, and for good reason!), Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood (way better than Handmaid's Tale in my opinion), and Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley. I also really adored all of Anne McCaffrey's Dragonriders of Pern, The Belgariad and The Mallorean by David and Leah Eddings, The Prydain Chronicles by Lloyd Alexander (also must read if you haven't yet), The Dark is Rising Sequence by Susan Cooper, and Piers Anthony's Xanth novels are very witty and fun. Additionally, if you like political intrigue, Kushiel's Legacy by Jacqueline Carey is great. If you don't mind sordid sex and want something mind-numbinbly fun, The Sword of Truth series by Terry Goodkind and The Axis Trilogy by Sara Douglass are more or less the high fantasy equivalent of soap operas + Murphy's Law and even if you can't believe you're still reading they're all page-turners 'till the last damn page (so I guess what you'd be wanting to avoid right now lol). Ohhh, and Dragonlance, though those are somewhat less page-turners and I still think the original Chronicles are the best. I also remember really liking Robin Hobb and Ursula Le Guin though I can't actually remember any of those stories anymore.

    Hrm. I really miss reading. ;_;

    • Particularly if you liked Sabriel (then you have to go read Lirael and Abhorsen) I think you’ll really like The Prydain Chronicles and The Dark is Rising Sequence.

      But you MUST read Stranger in a Strange Land, Dune, Ender’s Game, Oryx and Crake and Mists of Avalon. Seriously EVERYONE should read these. (And Hitchhiker’s Guide ♥).

      • yup yup I will. ah love one of those books in your must read list, strongly dislike the other (ehem read my long reply to your long comment). Still read it through (never leave a book unfinished) but gah didn’t care for it.

    • @ Cat hahahah epic long comment yay! omg yes you recommended that to me but the library says that whoever checked it out last never returned it!!! gahh, I may have to make a borders trip and read it there, I usually don’t buy books. Yeah, I guess I never got past the first book when I read it? hahahah read those a looong time ago. I’m not a fan of Ender’s Game. Sorry I dunno why but I tried reading it twice, and both times it was kind of a dud. OMG I LOVE LOVE LOVE The Mists of Avalon. Read it for the first time in middle school, and just reread it again recently. lol oh thanks Cat just heap a thousand books on me why dontcha. At this rate I’m never going to start studying. Thanks for the reccomendations though! I’m probably going to post a new book I love every misc monday morsels, so that will be my book recs to you, but a lot more spread out. gonna go reply to your other comment now

  4. I. feel. that. way. exactly. (about books). It’ll be like 2 in the morning on a school night and i’ll be rereading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows for the fiftieth time, and I KNOW I should go to bed because there’s probably a Bio quiz the next day but I CAN’T because I’m getting right at the part where Ron comes back, which is almost at the end, so I have to finish!
    (long run-on sentence)

    But yeah i know exactly what you mean haha and I love that song tooo, it’s so catchy!

    Okay, bye creeper :)

    • aaah I know it’s so bad! hahah I love that part, it was the best. When that came out, I was in Taiwan and I had school the next morning but I stayed up all night to finish it. hahah byebyee

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

