Manicures & Nail Art / My Favorite Things

NOTD: Water Marbling Fun

Yes, this is the manicure I was telling you about.  I discovered water marbling last week, and decided to give it a try.

some closeups of my favorite nails

I’ll be honest, I was really intimidated.  Half the blogs out there are already super-pro at water marbling, and make it look so easy.  The other half go into extreme detail talking about everything that can and will go wrong.  errr… *runs away screaming*

But the designs just looked so cool, I couldn’t pass up the chance to try this.  At first, I thought about doing 2 or 3 nails at once, but I ended up doing one nail at a time.  I think you get better designs that way, and you’re just less likely to mess up too.  I only had to redo one nail (my right index) out of ten, so I’d say that’s pretty good for my first time.

To see the full manicure and an instruction video, click to…

left hand:

right hand:

Here’s the instruction video I watched before attempting this.  I didn’t have any white polish, so I just used this nude (here) as my base.  I also used her swirling pattern on a couple of my nails, and really liked the effect.  With water marbling, you pretty much have the freedom to take it wherever you want, which is why each of my nails look different.

The good thing about this is that you have so much fun making designs, it doesn’t seem like a tedious/long process.  Yes, it takes a lot longer than a regular manicure would, but I think it’s well worth the time.  I’m already planning my next one.

*For this manicure, I used Zoya Tallulah, Midori, and Envy.

~Makeup Morsels

10 thoughts on “NOTD: Water Marbling Fun

    • It looks less messy if you use tape instead of Vaseline, but the cleanup is relatively simple with Vaseline. I know it looks goopy haha, but trust me it’s really not that bad.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

