Product Reviews / Skincare

Hokaty Hand Gel Brings the Heat!

When I was in Taiwan this summer, I picked up a nifty little tube of gel at a Japanese-import store.

I have extremely poor circulation, which I proved (oh-so-scientifically) with my little mood polish experiment (see here).

I don’t know why, but when I bought this, I didn’t doubt the claim.  I didn’t think it was a gimmick.  Why?  No idea.

Maybe it had to do with the pleasing pictures of thick socks and gloves on the front.  Maybe it was the large pink polka dots.  Who knows?  I put it up on my mental pedestal of greatness.  

Ok, that’s not a pedestal, it’s my tripod.  But it’s hard to find pedestals lying around these days.

Anyways, I got back to the States and threw it into my closet in anticipation of coming cold weather.  I’ve tried this out a couple of times, and here’s the weird thing.

It works on my hands, but not on my feet.  I don’t understand this.  I followed the instructions to the best of my ability (they were in Japanese, so I was just going off a couple of Kanji characters).  I rubbed the clear gel into my hands and feet…and waited.  Well, my feet remained cold and numb, but my hands suddenly felt like they were on fire. I should warn you, the sensation you get is quite alarming.  I’m not kidding when I say on fire.

I wondered if the sensation was just an intense prickling (i.e., not actually warming my hands).  Well, my mood polish manicure gave me the perfect way to test it out.  A couple of minutes after I rubbed the polish in, the polish turned from coral to peach, and stayed that way for a few hours.  How does it work?  I don’t know.  Think of it as a handwarmer in gel form.

I’m still confused as to why this won’t work on my feet, but at least my hands won’t be cold this winter!

I bought this for about $7, but you’d probably have to order it online if you don’t live in Asia.

Have you tried Hokaty hand gel (or a similar product) before?  What did you think of it?

~Makeup Morsels

10 thoughts on “Hokaty Hand Gel Brings the Heat!

  1. I couldn’t help but think of Icy Hot while reading this (albeit, they serve totally different purposes) :P Had no clue this kind of product existed! Sorry it didn’t work out fully but at least it did half the job? :)

    Oh man, do NOT mention those buns! *drools*

    • ooh ya, that didn’t even cross my mind! Yeah, right now I just use a hairdryer to heat up the inside of my socks before I put them on loll

      You got me totally hooked on them! The funny thing is that I’ve driven past that place so many times, and I love Bucca which is right next door, but I never even noticed until you posted those pictures. Last time I bought a box of six loll. I’m definitely craving more though.

  2. LOL you are hilarious girl! I need this gel RIGHT NOW, u know when your hands are so cold u can’t type properly? that’s me right now! burrrrr when did it get so cold all of a sudden!!

    • YESS I definitely know that feeling (it’s not very cold ATM, but sometimes my hands get so numb that when I want to play piano or type, it actually hurts a little bit/I can’t move my fingers quickly enough). I usually go wash my hands with some hot water or blast them with a hairdryer lolll. Now I have my gel! woot woot

  3. 哈哈哈
    這東西感覺好極端喔!!!
    居然對腳沒任何作用 但讓手燒起來XDDD

    我沒有是過這個耶
    但是我最近愛上了會溫溫熱熱的眼霜:)))
    超舒服的~

  4. 對了
    忘了問你是在哪一家店買的啊?
    我也想試試看

    還有我最近非常想買護手霜
    不知道為什麼手很奇怪地乾燥
    哈哈

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

