EOTD (Eye of the Day) / Lip Looks

Halloween FOTD and Tutorial Part 1

I was originally going to put the whole post up today, but after realizing just how many pictures I would have to cram into one post, I decided to split it up.  Today is face and lips, tomorrow is eyes.

Before I start, I have one thing to say.  This is technically not a Halloween FOTD, it’s more of a Halloween color-inspired FOTD.  And it’s fun!

Ok, I guess I have one more thing to say!  Thank you to the lovely Sanna of Purity, who gave me the “eyeshadow lace mask” idea, as well as permission to try it out myself.  :)

Onto the tutorial!

Materials for face and lips:

1. Prep your face with primer.  I used Lumene Deep Repairing Serum.  I don’t think it’s meant to be used as a primer, but it’s got dimethicone smack-dab at the start of the ingredients list, so my guess is that it will serve the same purpose.  For those of you who would rather not touch anything with silicones in it, try this primer from Korres (I personally have never used it, but it seems to be pretty popular).

2. Apply your foundation of choice.  I used Laura Mercier Oil-Free Tinted Moisturizer in Nude.

artsy brush+foundation picture, I just thought it looked cool:

3. Find a piece of lace.  It would probably be helpful if you could find a wide piece of lace.  However, if you find yourself in a situation where you’re holding a piece of lace similar to the one below in your hands, don’t fret.  It will be ok.  Just move it around.

Attach said piece of lace across your face.  Use whatever method you’d like, I attached the lace with butterfly clips.

4. Apply a black eyeshadow over the lace.  I used Lucifer (how fitting) from my Kat von D palette and a blush brush.  My reasoning was that I would be able to cover more area with a bigger brush, but if I were to go back and do this again, I’d just use a regular eyeshadow brush.  Because I used such a wide brush, the color didn’t apply as pigmented as I would have liked.  It shouldn’t take too long to do this, even with a small brush, so I suggest you use a shadow brush.

It should look something like this when you’re done:

See?  A cool mask with minimal effort.

5. Set your entire face with powder.  I used my HG Rimmel Stay Matte powder.

6. Bad picture, sorry.  Apply some bright orange lipstick!  In retrospect, I should have done this with a lip brush, and then cleaned up the outline with a bit of concealer.  I used Milani Mandarina lipstick (review coming soon).

Check back tomorrow for the eye look tutorial!

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The Lumene serum, which I have previously reviewed, was sent to me for consideration.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

11 thoughts on “Halloween FOTD and Tutorial Part 1

  1. Pingback: Halloween Tutorial and FOTD Part 2 « Makeup Morsels

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

