Product Reviews / Skincare

Yes or No to Dr. Ci:Labo?

Happy Wednesday!

Or is it?

I’m having one of those weeks where starting from Monday, every day feels like a Friday.  It’s not very encouraging.  I have some skincare reviews for all of you today, so click to read on.

First off, I’m not going to be reviewing everything you see in the picture.  I feel like I would have to try some of these for a longer period of time to do a proper review, so I’m only going to be reviewing the two products that I had an instant reaction to.

First up is the Aqua-Collagen Gel Super Moisture (white package, front and center).

The texture is nice and light, but not runny.  It absorbs into the skin right away, without leaving any trace of shine or greasiness behind.  It has a pleasant, floral scent (very light and fades quickly) and really got rid of my dry patches.  The day I used this, I was having a bad skin week (dry patches on the forehead, but slightly oily skin overall).  This stuff cleared up the dryness right away, and didn’t cause me to break out.  It didn’t irritate my skin either, and was generally very pleasant to use.

The Aqua Collagen Gel Super Moisture retails for $40 (1.76 oz).  I’m one of those people who believes that if you do splurge on something, it should be skincare.  The price is about $10 more than what I normally pay for moisturizer, but I personally think it’s worth it.

My rating: A

The next product I’m reviewing is the Super Cleansing Gel EX, a makeup remover.  Whenever I come across something that’s marketed as a makeup remover, I like to test it on my Majolica Majorca mascara (review here).

Before I get into all of that, I want to take a moment to talk about the texture.  It’s like nothing else I’ve ever tried.  It’s kind of a thick, clear paste/gel that’s smooth and easily spreadable.  It turns into an oil once I rub it in.  I don’t remember there being a scent.  If there was one, it was definitely light.  The gel also rinses off easily, but does it rinse off my makeup?

Um…I’d say it got about 30% of my mascara off.  That’s not good.  And I really did rub it in, and let it sit for awhile.  On the plus side, it didn’t irritate my skin.  Now, this doesn’t say anything about removing waterproof makeup, which leads me to believe that it was created for removing foundation/the last traces of your makeup.  That’s all well and good, but I’m not likely to fork over $32 for a (4.23 oz) bottle of this.

My rating: C+

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products mentioned in this post were samples provided by PR for review purposes.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

2 thoughts on “Yes or No to Dr. Ci:Labo?

  1. Aw, sorry to hear the Super Cleansing Gel EX sucked. I agree with you on splurging on skincare. I remember trying a sample of the Aqua Collagen Gel Super Moisture and liking it but not the scent. (My crazy skin needs unscented moisturizer) Currently, I’m digging Clinique’s Moisture Surge which has a similar gel creme consistency but is fragrance-free.

    (The creme brulee was from The Capital Grille. That was good but everything else was mediocre so I don’t recommend dining there. I keep on hearing about The Vampire Diaries! I want to watch it but I think it conflicts with something I already have set on my DVR. :( Maybe I’ll try Hulu-ing it. You must have a nice booty…hee hee :)

    • I splurge like crazy on my face sunscreen and moisturizers, I just think it’s worth it. I really dislike having oily/combo skin sometimes because I have to go through constant cycles of moisturizing it and then drying it out etc etc

      aww that’s too bad, thanks for letting me know though! HULU IT! SO GOOD. hahahahha at first I was like where is this booty comment coming from?? I wish they didn’t make their dresses so short, I think it’s probably my height that’s wrecking it all.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

