Eyes / Previews

Bombshell Beauty (with Bows)

And let me tell you right now, the “with bows” bit is imperative.

left to right: Victoria’s Secret Bombshell Beauty Eyeshadow Quad in Peek-A-Boo, No Angel, Pretty Sexy

Throw a bow on something, and there’s a 90% chance that I’ll love it.  Which means that if I don’t love it, you’re doing something wrong…

It so happens that Victoria’s Secret got it spot on with these bow-adorned quads, though. Click to see swatches and my thoughts.

Before any of you start questioning my anger management problems, the gouge in Pretty Sexy occurred during transport.  I was not in any way, shape, or form trying to take out unresolved anger on an inanimate object.  *blink blink*  ehem, I whipped out my tube of Superglue and everything was dandy!

Peek-A-Boo (top: dry, bottom: wet)

No Angel

Pretty Sexy

The colors aren’t the most pigmented shadows I’ve come across, but they’ve got The Lancome Factor (yes, I made that term up myself) going for them.  The Lancome Factor refers to any eyeshadow quad which manages to bring together 4 colors, all playing off one another perfectly.  These eyeshadows also blend well, and create nice, everyday looks which require very little effort to put together.  Although they might not be the brightest colors ever, they’ve got decent pigmentation.

The packaging itself is nice and simple.  I like the plain black; it puts all the focus on the design.  As I mentioned in my preview, my favorite quad is No Angel, which reminds me a lot of the MAC Spiced Chocolate quad.  I can achieve a similar look to my Shu Uemura quad with Pretty Sexy (using the shimmery pinky-beige and the taupe).  Peek-A-Boo can actually be very wearable as well.  None of these quads venture into loud makeup territory, and they’re not meant to.

Each quad retails for $17, which I find reasonable.  It’s not drugstore pricing, but you’d have to hand over a lot more cash for a high-end quad, or even a MAC quad.

I have one final point to address, and this was brought up by Trisha of Makeup Files in the preview comments.  She mentioned that she didn’t like quads where the shadows weren’t separated.  I’m sure that most of you share the same concern.

I went into Victoria’s Secret this weekend to confirm something I’d seen online.  These palettes also come without the design (for the same price, it seems).  Instead, you get four stripes of shadow sans barriers.  I’ll be honest, I’m not crazy about that.  The  thing that saves this palette for me is the design.  Although I have to turn my eyeshadow brush sideways to get at the shadow on the sides, the bow and corset are both a good size.  Since this is a powder product, I don’t have any issue with the color bleeding over either, so it’s not a huge issue for me in this particular case.

The Bombshell Beauty collection is Limited Edition, and will be available up until the end of December.

My rating: A

Full Disclosure: the items mentioned in this post were provided by PR for consideration and review.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

10 thoughts on “Bombshell Beauty (with Bows)

  1. These quads look beautiful especially the first one! It’s nice to know they also come in stripes without the design for those that prefer their shadows to be separated. Although I’m not sure I would paty $17 for that. The price is not cheap but for the pretty design I may be willing to pay it. Without I don’t think it’s worth it…

    • ooh sorry maybe I wasn’t clear. The shadows aren’t separated, they’re basically 4 stripes next to each other, but still touching. I would definitely not pay $17 for that either…

    • ackk ok I guess I wasn’t clear lol, will have to go update this later. They’re still touching, but only as stripes, not even with the pretty design. Aw, thanks! I try my best to get color accurate photos xD

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

