Bath & Body / Product Reviews / Skincare

How to Smell Clean With Minimal Effort (A Review)

No, the answer is not showering.  You should already be doing that.

When I first heard about this on Michelle’s blog, I was skeptical.  Wouldn’t you be if someone told you it was fine to apply deodorant once a week?

I’ve been testing the Underarm Deodorant (white) out for a few weeks now, and none of my friends have abandoned me for smelling offensive in that time.  Because…it actually works.  And the best part is that it’s aluminum, alcohol, and paraben free, which are my requirements for deodorants (yes, this means that antiperspirants are off-limits to me).  It’s also hypo-allergenic.

The deodorant comes in (I hesitate to say cream, but I suppose cream is the best description I can find) form.  The reason I wouldn’t exactly call it a cream is that it’s got a dry-ish, hard-to-spread texture.  Lavilin Deodorant comes with a little plastic spatula in the box, but it seems like less work to use your fingers.  Just dig in!  The deodorant cream has a medium-strength herbal/medicinal smell, but it fades after about 10 minutes.  The interesting thing about this is that it doesn’t aim to cover up the smell.  Instead, it works by eliminating the bacteria that cause odor, which means you can wear whatever perfume you’d like and this won’t interfere with the scent.

Essentially, your armpits will smell like nothing.  It lasts up to 7 days with showering, swimming, running, whatever it is that you want to do.  Now I say up to because it might not last a full 7 days for everybody.  Browsing around the internet, I saw some people who said it only lasted 3 days (this seemed to be the minimum amount of time), and others who said it lasted the full 7.  For me, this genuinely lasts a full week.  I’m very self-conscious about how I smell (of course, I don’t know how effective my self-consciousness is because most of the time my nose is stuffed up from allergies), and I can get by just fine applying this once a week.

Now, the cons.  Like I mentioned before, this is hard to apply.  Not so difficult that you’ll have to scrape your skin or anything, but it takes a couple of minutes to fully rub it in.  Once you’ve done that, you’ll get a slight whitish cast on your underarms for the first day.  It washes off in the shower, and doesn’t seem to leave white marks on my clothes, but I’d be careful about wearing your best LBD on Day 1.  Also, for people who are used to antiperspirants, switching to a deodorant might not be so fun.  Deodorants aren’t meant to decrease your sweat levels, so don’t expect anything in that department.  I’ve always used deodorants, though, so finding an aluminum and paraben-free deodorant that works for such a long period of time is a dream come true.  A dream that you can buy for $15, in case you were wondering.  Worth every penny, IMO, and a little bit goes a long way.

My rating: A+

The Foot Deodorant Cream (green), on the other hand, did not work as well for me.  Maybe my feet are beyond help?  One application only lasts a day for me, as opposed to a full week.  It’s supposed to be an even stronger formulation than the Underarm Cream, so I don’t know what’s going on.  To be fair, the shoes I’ve been wearing lately have zero circulation.  The formula feels the same, but smells slightly stronger.  The Foot Deodorant costs $16.

My rating: C+/B-

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products reviewed in this post were provided by PR for consideration.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

15 thoughts on “How to Smell Clean With Minimal Effort (A Review)

  1. How long do you think it would take to go through one container of the underarm deodorant? If it’s a long time, I might consider this.

    The thing i don’t like about traditional deodorant/antiperspirant is the strong smell. They’re nice smells, but I’d rather not let that dictate how I smell because then I’d smell the same every day. Know what I mean?

    • I’ve been using mine for a month, and I’ve barely made a dent in it. I’d say one container should last somewhere from 9-12 months if you only have to apply once a week. haha yes I do :)

  2. Pingback: Dry Skin, Away With Ye! « Makeup Morsels

  3. Awesome review MM! I’m so thrilled this is working for you. I fell off the wagon so you’ve inspired me to get back on the Lavilin train as when I ordered it I think I bought 3 each of the underarm AND foot creams. My problem is I always forget to apply at night! (I’m the same with lash growth stuff… I think I get too tired and spacey at night)

    Also – I remember the instructions saying that you need to abstain from regular deos/antiperspirants for a certain amount of time before you use this. Do you remember how long that was? And did you do that yourself? (I wear natural stuff now so I honestly can’t see how they would interfere.) Also it said you have to shower at night before you put it on, right? Do you do that?

    • Thanks Michelle :) Well, I’m the same as you w/ deodorants (all natural), so I just went ahead and started using this right away. I actually didn’t know about the shower thing hahah. Sometimes I apply it before I shower, and sometimes I do it after. It doesn’t seem to interfere with its effectiveness.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

