Lips / Mid End

Caress Your Lips With Ole Henriksen

Geez, what a creepy title.  hehe!

*note: lip balm does not come in box.  That’s just me putting something pink on another something pink.

Anyone who’s a longtime reader of my blog should know by now that I’m extremely into my lip products.  After some years of searching, I eventually settled down with my beloved Therapind and Ceralip, and it was good.

Recently, another lipbalm entered my life.  And it was also good.

Don’t let the name Ole Henriksen African Red Tea Exfoliating Lip Salvation scare you off.  I wasn’t sure if I would like this at first, mainly because of that little word Exfoliating in there.  I read a few reviews on the MUA boards where people complained that the texture was gritty and grainy, and generally impossible to wear as a balm.

After wearing this for almost a few weeks, I have yet to detect anything remotely gritty.  Whatever they put in there for exfoliation purposes, it’s too finely milled for me to pick up on.

There’s no question that my favorite part about this lipbalm is the scent.  It’s not overpowering, but I wouldn’t say it’s light either.  It’s the most addicting scent in the world…slightly sugary and a little bit tart/fruity at the same time.  I’ve been opening it just to sniff the contents *if this sounds weird to you, you should probably know that I’m also the type of person who pets my makeup brushes when I’m sad* whenever I’m feeling down or overworked.

The balm delivers just a slight hint of rosy color.  We’re talking very sheer here, but just enough to perk up the complexion a little bit.  The texture is thin with some slip (as opposed to waxy).  It also makes my lips look very nice and smooth.

Here, I’m wearing it under Revlon Super Lustrous Lipgloss in Racy Raspberry.

I think it makes my liplines look much less noticeable.  Now, this doesn’t quite cut it as a nighttime treatment for me, but keep in mind that my lips are extremely dry.  I’ve been using this as a daytime lipbalm, and found it to be on par with my Shiseido Therapind balm, so I’m guessing that most people would be able to use this overnight.

Ole Henriksen Lip Salvation is formulated without parabens, synthetic dyes, synthetic fragrances, sulfates, and *this is the biggie for me* petrolatum!  (aka petroleum).  I find that lip balms with petroleum always dry my lips out in the long run, so I prefer to avoid them.  Now, this definitely does not apply to everybody.  However, if you’re in the same dry-lips-and-no-petroleum-please-boat as me, this is a very nice balm, retailing at $15 for a 0.4 oz pot.  It’s pricey for a lip balm, but not ridiculously so for the results it provides.

My rating: A

Full Disclosure: The product reviewed in this post was provided by PR for consideration.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

6 thoughts on “Caress Your Lips With Ole Henriksen

  1. Sounds yummy and looks really nice with your Racy Raspberry lippie. ;) I’d love to see a pic of you petting your makeup brushes…hee hee. I’m loyal to Aquaphor which would be a no-go for you given its petrolatum contents.

    • ahahah nono, I don’t want to scare too many readers off lol. I love using Aquaphor for dry patches, but it just doesn’t work with my lips. It’ll be nice to me for about a week, but after that the longer I use it, the more my lips start peeling. Same w/ Vaseline and any other lipbalm w/ petroleum in it.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

