Manicures & Nail Art

Sparkling Holiday NOTD

Normally with something this picture-heavy, I’d hide a good deal of it behind the cut.  But today, I think I’m going to leave this post cut-free, just to spruce up the home page with some holiday cheer.

left to right: Rimmel Base/Top Coat (used as base coat here), China Glaze Short & Sassy, China Glaze 5 Golden Rings, CoverGirl Disco Dazzle Topcoat, Seche Vite.

The look is very simple to achieve, and I absolutely love the effect.  You don’t have to do a perfect job with your base color because you’ll eventually be covering it up.  I did one coat of China Glaze Short & Sassy on each nail, and then did a halfhearted gradient on the tips with China Glaze 5 Golden Rings (a sheer coat starting halfway down the nail, and another a little bit higher).  I covered the bottom of each nail with CoverGirl Disco Dazzle, and then finished things off with a coat of Seche.  Nice and easy, with a stunning effect.

*Note: all pictures were taken before I did any cleanup, so please excuse the slight messiness of the polish.

Party inspired by the rain, partly with the holidays in mind:

Raindrops keep falling on my head PLOP PLOP…

So I looked up the song on YouTube, and I realized that there is no plop plop part.  I could’ve sworn there was!  Hmm, I wonder what other songs my memory has altered.

This is my favorite part:

Raindrops keep fallin’ on my head
But that doesn’t mean my eyes will soon be turnin’ red

hehe :)  *for the ten billionth time* Happy Holidays everyone!

~Makeup Morsels

16 thoughts on “Sparkling Holiday NOTD

    • aw thank you :) hahah I love how they look like ornaments dipped in glitter. I think it’s mostly because the glitter is so fine that I was able to achieve the effect on the nail tips. I’m glad you like it too!

  1. The hubs likes to sing “Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head” and then stops b/c he doesn’t know the rest….lol. It’s such a cute song. ;) Love the sparkly, festive nails! Now I feel like pigging out on some cranberry sauce…haha. :P

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

