Eyes / My Favorite Things / Product Reviews

Ellis Faas Lights Me Up

With joy!  And their general ability to churn out amazing products.  Do you see how I attempted to crack a pun there?  Because the products I’m reviewing today are…

Ellis Faas Lights

They’ve certainly been generating a lot of hype since they were first introduced to the extensive Ellis Faas line, so I was curious to try them out for myself.  Ellis Faas products have impressed me in the past, despite the high price tags they come with, so I was hoping these would be more of the same.

I’ve already walked you through the click-pen packaging in the past, so click the thumbnail for some quick background information on them.  I had the same experience with the click-and-turn of Lights as I did with Creamy Eyes.  Basically, the first time it dispenses a little too much product (and takes ages to finish clicking), but after that I can get just a little bit of product out pretty quickly.  For swatches and my thoughts, read on.

Swatches:

left to right: Ellis Faas Lights in E301 “warm silver”, E303 “bronze”, E305 “holographic Bordeaux”.

When I first saw the swatches online, I thought E305 would be my favorite for its duochrome properties, but you know what?  I think I love them all equally.  I know that’s probably not what your wallet wants to hear, but it’s the truth.  The texture on Lights is just amazing, I’ve never seen anything like it before.  It looks like molten, liquid sparkle or something equally out of this world.  And this is what it looks like dry.  Speaking of dry, the dry time on these is very short, probably a little bit under a minute.  Once it sets, it’s not going anywhere either, but I wear these over a primer anyways out of habit.  One word of caution: when wearing these, don’t absentmindedly rub your eyes, because you will get glitter all over your face.  Unless you like the disco ball look, don’t do it.

More swatches to show the flash on E305 better:

Doesn’t it look like an amped up, awesome x 100 version of MAC Club?

Now going back to the dry time, this means that you have very little time to blend.  Since the colors are so bold, I never bother blending them or sheering them out.  I just paint them in a sort of rounded shape on my eyelid, and even out the edges a little with a finger.  Also, if you want to wear this on the lid with a regular eyeshadow on the crease, you will have to work quickly to blend the other shadow into this one.  Another thing to keep in mind is that you can’t use pencil liner over these.  You just can’t.  Even creamy pencils are a bit of a struggle to use over these, so I would suggest gel or liquid.  I think it’s a small price to pay for a liquid shadow that’s this gorgeous (although the literal price…well, let’s talk about that for a second).  So, these retail at $42 each.  I’ll give you a moment to digest that.

Ok, moment’s over.  Yes, the price is extremely, extremely high.  And like Chanel, Ellis Faas is not a brand that has sales or specials on their products.  It’s a splurge for sure, but you get what you pay for, and I can honestly say that I have never seen a product like this on the market before.

My rating: A

(I had to take off the + for the price, but I couldn’t take off anymore than that because these are just so magical)

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products reviewed in this post were provided by PR.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

8 thoughts on “Ellis Faas Lights Me Up

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

