"Best Of..."

Makeup Morsels Best of 2010

Oh. My. Lord.

I forgot to do a Miscellaneous Monday Morsels yesterday.  WHAT DOES THIS MEAN?!

It’s ok, quick fix.  I just changed the title of yesterday’s post hahahahha.  I’m very resourceful like that.

2010 has been a very long year for me, so I have a very long list of makeup favorites to go with it :)  All pictures link to the original reviews.

Starting with lips! (you have no idea how difficult it was for me to narrow this list down)

I can’t believe that I have yet to do a review on the Shiseido Therapind Oil Balm after all this time, but I do have a review of the Therapind Oil Bar up.  This is always in my lip bag, and my lips are in much better shape lately thanks to the Therapind line.  Although it’s not an easily accessible product, it’s definitely a bargain buy if you…live in Asia.  Sorry guys!

As much as I love lipstick, I had to go with the Revlon Super Lustrous Lipglosses for this list.  Someday, I will swatch my entire collection for you.  These are definitely a bargain, and I love the color range.  Plus, the packaging is classy and the texture is amazing/not sticky at all.

Moving on to eyes: There were several products in this category that I use almost every day, but couldn’t post because they are slowly being discontinued.  But I’m going to include them unofficially because I love them too much (a gold cream shadow from Estee Lauder here and Prestige Granite liner here).

Kat von D Ludwig is probably one of the best palettes I ever spent my money on.  The mix of colors is perfect to me (warm w/ some pops of green), and the texture and pigmentation is TDF.  I shouldn’t have waited an entire year to get this (I’m way too indecisive sometimes).

If sparkles are your thing, you have to check Ellis Faas Lights out.  I know that the price tag is a little bit scary, but these are by far the prettiest sparkly shadows I have ever seen in my life.

I apologize for including yet another product that might be hard for most people to get their hands on, but Majolica Majorca Lash Expander Frame Plus is the most incredible lengthening mascara in this world.  Bonus points because it doesn’t smudge on me, and a lot of mascaras do that on my oily skin.

Now for skincare:

This is always going to sit in the place of honor on my vanity due to its amazing texture.  I do have another favorite sunscreen to review, but I’ll save that for 2011.  Just a note, Lancome has repackaged their Bienfait sunscreen, so you can have a look at the new packaging here.

For those of you who love Lancome’s Bi-Facil, Lumene’s Waterproof Makeup Remover is an excellent dupe for a piffling $6.  I use it every single night, and I’ve lost count of how many bottles I’ve run through at this point.

The miraculous, paraben and aluminum-free, 7 day deodorant.  I’m still loving it.

And finally, beauty tools.

Yes, this is a man’s razor.  At this point, I’ve completely abandoned my Venus Embrace for the disposable Mach 3’s.  They’re cheaper, sharper, and more travel-friendly.

I love this brush so much that I bought a backup for it.  The ELF Studio Powder Brush costs a mere $3, and excels at buffing in both powder and liquid foundation.  You can even use it with bronzer and blush.  It’s the ultimate multitasker in my brush collection.

I’m also in love with my Koji lash curlers, but those will have to wait until next year.

Since I’ve completely forgotten to do quite a lot of reviews, you’ll also have to wait until 2011 to hear about my favorite face makeup items and nail polish must-haves.

What about you?  What were your favorite products in 2010?

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: Ellis Faas Lights and Lavilin Deodorant were both provided by PR for consideration.  All opinions are my own.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

10 thoughts on “Makeup Morsels Best of 2010

  1. I love “Best of” posts! Kudos to you (and others) who take the time to write all this b/c mama’s too lazy to…HA! ;)

    Bienfait sunscreen is one of those cult products I hear about all the time but still haven’t gotten around to trying. Must! And Mach 3, huh? I use cheapie Bic shavers myself….hehe.

    (Oh and “Vegasmas”? Totally made that up. :P )

    • loll glad this was of some use to you! I was flipping through my year of posts, I blogged quite a lot! Don’t blame me if you try it and like it and find your wallet a good deal lighter… o.O yupp love my Mach 3’s. I got a huge pack of them at Costco last year, and I still have 10 left…or something like that. Takes me forever to toss one b/c they stay sharp so long. ahh I see, hahaha cuz I’ve definitely never heard that one before!

  2. Great post and very useful! I love the ELF powder brush too. It works so well at applying liquid foundation, giving skin a flawless finish and the bristles are so soft too! It’s definitely one of my best purchases.

  3. I love that ELF powder brush as well. I had a back up of a back up but when my BFF when to grad school, I gave it to her. I also use men’s razors because they are cheaper and they work a lot better. Your list sounds like a lot of fun!

  4. You have a lot of amazing products listed :)
    Well, I cant really say that can I cause the only thing Ive tried was the eye make-up removers :)
    So let me rephrase myself.. SEEMS like a lot of awesome products ;)
    I would love to still being able to get my hands on Revlon stuff, but unfortunately some doofus thought that Revlon would not longer be sold inside the borders of Finland :(
    Ive heard a lot about the mascara (the Majolica Majorca one) and I wish I could try it out.. Im always on the hunt for a good mascara :)

    hugs

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

