Entertainment

Miscellaneous Monday Morsels 1/3/10

And the holiday festivities are officially at an end…

On New Year’s Eve, I thought I’d rent a nice little action movie.  My mom said we should go with Salt.  The trailer looked pretty good

…so I was amazed at how terrifically bad the entire movie was.  Action movies typically…ride on the action.  Which means a good chunk of the movie depends on believable fight scenes.  How come every time somebody gets knocked out in this movie, they practically line up one by one to get beat up?  And even though I always expect the main character to win, I still want to see their opponents fight back, which is not something I saw very much of in Salt.

And omigod that bunker scene *spoiler alert* where Ted Winters/whatshisface reveals that he’s also a Russian spy. At that point, I was almost expecting the President to pop up and be all oh hai guys!  I’m a Russian spy too SURPRISE! And please tell me how someone jumps out of a moving helicopter into the ocean, and then manages to pop up and run through the snowy woods in a tank top, did I mention with a bullet wound? *spoiler alert over*

Believability aside, this movie moves way too quickly.  I like fast-paced action movies, but there has to be some character development in there.  There was no interesting backstory in Salt, nor did I ever at any point care about any of the characters.  Actually, I’m asking myself why I even bothered sitting through that whole movie.  I think I just kept waiting for it to redeem itself, but it never did.

To sum up, please don’t watch this.  If you want a good action movie, try the Bourne trilogy (The Bourne Identity, The Bourne Supremacy, The Bourne Ultimatum).  Those are really good.

Whew, that was a lot of negativity packed into one post.

Happy Monday!

~Makeup Morsels

P.S. Haul post will be up tomorrow, as requested :D

10 thoughts on “Miscellaneous Monday Morsels 1/3/10

  1. MY. GOD. salt was one of the worst movies ive ever seen… the scene where she peeled off the latex mask to look exactly the same but with a fresh coat of lipgloss…

    gah.

  2. I watched Salt in theater and I enjoyed it. The thing about this movie is they want to turn it into a trilogy like Bourne, hence the awkward ending. Other than that, Angelina Jolie can still kick some major buns :)

    • mm gotta say I was not a fan of the entire movie, not just the ending. Have you seen any other movies you like lately, though? I’m trying to decide what I want to see this weekend.

  3. We just saw Salt last weekend and I agree – it is a very awkward movie. A Jolie practically just slaps around people – mind you people trained to protect and fight back – and they fall. I wish the fight sequences were more believable too. :(

    Actually I agree with all you said about the movie – the plot seemed very under-developed, many things didn’t make sense, and the fights were… well, they weren’t really fought.

    Just saw The Tourist too – very predictable. And A Jolie looks OLD! I usually like her just ok but she looks old and tired and haggard in the movie. With a terrible brit accent. :P

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

