My Favorite Things / Skincare

My Skincare Routine

Inspired by Karen’s skincare post.  My skin isn’t perfect by any means, but I’d still say it’s in pretty good shape.  Here are the products I’m currently using.

I’ve already written full reviews of some of these products, and I’ve linked those below.

In the morning:
DHC Olive Oil Soap (comes in bar form, the round one)
Kiehl’s Cucumber Toner
Lancome Bienfait Multivital SPF 30 Lotion
Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder
Skin Food Salmon Dark Circle Concealer Cream
Shiseido Therapind Oil Bar

In the evening:
Cetaphil
Lumene Waterproof Eye Makeup Remover

Lancome Absolue Eye Premium
Lumene Sensitive Touch Comforting Night Cream
Shiseido Therapind Oil Balm
Retin-A Micro Tretinoin Gel 0.1% as needed
A&D Ointment as needed
Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque once a week

Read on for brief descriptions of my other skincare items.

I’ve been using the DHC Olive Oil soap for a very long time now (I’d say about 5 years).  I get it at the 7/11’s in Taipei, where it’s very affordable.  I love that it cleanses my skin without leaving it feeling tight.  At the same time, it feels like it’s doing a thorough job of getting all the dirt and gunk off my skin.

I know a lot of people say toner is unnecessary, but I’ve gotten used to having it in my routine.  I don’t like to use toners with alcohol in them, and the Kiehl’s Cucumber Toner fits that requirement.

Believe me, I’ve gone through a lot of undereye concealers, and Skin Food Salmon Dark Circle Concealer Cream is the best one I’ve found so far.  It’s got the coverage of TimeBalm without being drying, and it stays put all day (although the shade I have has gotten a little bit dark on me, so I’ll have to buy the lighter one next time I go to Taiwan).

I don’t even like Cetaphil, so you might ask why it’s in my skincare routine.  Well, it’s simply because I’m too lazy to carry my soap dish (with the DHC Olive Oil Soap) back and forth between my two bathrooms every day, and I don’t know where to keep bar soaps in my shower.  Yeah…bad reason.  Cetaphil is very gentle of course, but I always feel like it’s not doing a great job cleansing my skin.  So yes, I do need to find something to replace this soon.  Any suggestions?

I rotate my eye creams quite a bit, but right now I’m loving Lancome Absolue Eye Premium.  It’s very moisturizing, but not at all irritating.  I find that some eye creams this rich can cause minor milia on my undereyes, but this doesn’t.

My quest for the perfect lip balm ended with the Shiseido Therapind line.  Shiseido Therapind Oil Balm is the strongest product of this entire line.  It is my HG of HG’s, a beefed-up version of the Oil Bar.  I must do a longer review on this someday (along with everything else I haven’t reviewed yet on this list).

I use Retin-A Micro Tretinoin Gel 0.1% as needed whenever I break out.  I wish it worked faster… but at least it does work.  It’s prescription only, though.

A&D ointment is a combination of Lanolin and Petroleum that is marketed as a diaper rash treatment.  This just means that it’s good for my sensitive skin, and I can use it whenever I get super dry patches.  I think there’s a drugstore version, but I always get mine at the hospital’s pharmacy (I like that version better).

And there you have it!  My skincare routine in a nutshell.  Some of these products (like my sunscreen and DHC soap) are permanent fixture, while others (like my moisturizer) change frequently.

What about you?  Share your skincare routine below in the comments :)

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: Lumene Sensitive Touch Comforting Night Cream was provided by PR for consideration.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

12 thoughts on “My Skincare Routine

  1. I’m encouraged by the fact that you love your Lancome eye cream b/c I just bought their Precious Cells one and will be trying it out for the first time after my current eye cream is done. Hope it works for me too! :D

    Anywho, to answer your q…

    Morning:
    LUSH Angels on Bare Skin
    SK-II facial treatment essence
    StriVectin-SD eye cream
    Clinique Moisture Surge
    SkinCeuticals Sheer Physical SPF 50

    Evening:
    Purpose cleanser
    SK-II facial treatment essence
    StriVectin-SD eye cream
    Clinique Moisture Surge
    Mario Badescu Drying Lotion (for zits)
    SK-II mask once a week

  2. You use a lot more products that I do, that’s for sure. I think of all of the different kinds of beauty routines out there, skincare is one of the places that I’m most lax, although I’ve gotten a lot better at it in the past few years.

  3. My skincare routine is insane sometimes and I’m in the process of streamlining it. I don’t use so many products during winter, except for a very good moisturizer and sunscreen. Thanks for showing your routine. Gotta keep up with our skins!

    • My skincare routine is definitely the opposite of streamlined lol, but I feel like I need to use everything (except maybe the toner) to keep my skin looking healthy. Gotta keep up indeed :)

  4. hey! it’s been a while since ive read blogs again- been MIA and very busy with schooL!

    you know, im still searching for the right concealer. I’m very picky about concealers, because you use them on your eyes, so thanks for sharing what you used, because it seems to fit what im looking for. I need something that stays up for hours!

    Where can you purchase skinfood products? is it only online?

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

