Eyes / Mid End

I’ll Love My Urban Decay Eyeliners 24/7

Urban Decay’s 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencils are one of the most hyped products in their entire lineup (right next to UDPP, which I’ll be reviewing soon, and the Naked Palette, which generated a complete feeding frenzy).  They’re also aptly named because~~hey, guess what?~they do glide right on!

I’ve been trying out four of the shades lately.  You might recognize the bright blue from my recent Rainy Day EOTD.

Swatches:

right to left: Electric, Ransom, Underground, Rockstar.

While these eyeliners have quite a cult following, I’ve heard some people complain that they’re so over-hyped.  Well…I mean, it’s still an eye pencil.  You can’t expect magic here, yaknow?  I don’t think that these are the eye pencils to end all eye pencils (WWI reference!  *pats self on back* I still remember some European history), but they are high quality.

First off, the glide is excellent on all of these.  I know a lot of drugstore brands also do creamy pencil liners nowadays, but I find that some of those (Sally Hansen Carmindy, in particular) still skip a little bit, or don’t deposit a perfectly even coat of color.  Another thing Urban Decay has going for them is the color range.  They have a lot of shades in this line, and you won’t be able to find some of those at the drugstore.  As for staying power, it’s good with one caveat.  It performs best when worn over Urban Decay Primer Potion (or your primer of choice, but I’ve been wearing these over UDPP).  This might be a combination of the primer and the liner, but these haven’t smudged or imprinted at all on my upper lashline when I wore them all day.

I did wear these on my bottom lashline without primer once, and they smudged pretty quickly on me, but UDPP solves that.  I suspect that the creaminess of the liner makes it spread out a little more easily, so these have to be worn with some sort of primer.  Which is fine by me, because I always wear makeup over primer…but  I guess if you have oily lids and want to wear these alone, they will crease on the upper lashline and smudge on the lower.  I can’t attest to the staying power on the waterline because I generally try to avoid putting anything on my waterline.

The price is where I get a little bit iffy.  These go for $17 per pencil, and while you definitely get a good amount of product with nice packaging (the caps on these are sturdy, so they won’t start cracking like some of my drugstore pencils do after awhile), that’s a lot to pay for a pencil liner.  I can see paying more for liquid or gel liners, but pencil…I’m not so sure.  So if you’re going to purchase one of these, I would go for a color that you won’t be able to find at the drugstore.  Also, Urban Decay frequently releases sets of miniaturized pencils at much more reasonable prices/with their eyeshadow palettes, in which case I think they’re very much worth the money.

My rating: A-

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products reviewed in this post were provided by PR for consideration.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

11 thoughts on “I’ll Love My Urban Decay Eyeliners 24/7

  1. I also LOVE them!!! They’re sooo beautiful and I love how they are the only eyeliners that stay on my waterline. I LOVE LOVE LOVE them :) I thing I’ll also have a post on them :) they are sooo beautiful

  2. These are my favourite liner to use, simply because you can get the colour nice and vivid, really quickly.

    I know what you mean about the smudging, I think that also might be considered a bonus point by the lovely UD ladies, as the whole line is tailored to being slightly edgy glam rocker-girl. I smudge mine on purpose I have to say, its like instant smokey eyes. :)

    Another one that is slightly nicer, is the Ink for Eyes. I don’t know if you’ve tried it, but its somewhere between liquid and pencil, and a delight to use :)

    @shop N’ Chomp
    They do a liquid liner range here in the UK, not sure if they’re available elsewhere, but they are rather great :)

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

