Hair / Product Reviews

All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter

Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.
From the ashes a fire shall be woken,
A light from the shadows shall spring;
Renewed shall be blade that was broken,
The crownless again shall be king.

~J.R.R. Tolkien

If anyone should care to join me for an LOTR marathon in the near future, I’m always up for that :D

Ehem, you might ask, could you please get on with the review?

You see that picture below?  That, my readers, is Yuko Repair Through Leave-In Conditioner Spray.  It contains Aqua-Gold, and yet, it does not glitter.  Do you see what I was trying to do now?  *wink wink*  (ok, I’ll stop.  I can sense some of you cringing behind your computer screens).

In case you’re wondering what Aqua-Gold is, it’s real gold (water soluble) for your hair.  It’s supposed to deliver nutrients into your hair faster, smoother and more evenly.  Repair Through also contains also contains amino acids, silicone, and is alcohol-free.  I am definitely not a science person, so I’m not sure if silicone and dimethicone have the same effect (I know some people avoid products with dimethicone because it causes them to break out).  I tend to stay away from hair products containing dimethicone because I find that they do cause breakouts for me, but I’ve been using this for a few weeks now, and my skin is still fine.

Because I’ve had to cut dimethicone out of my hair routine, my hair hasn’t been getting quite enough moisture lately, so I was eager to put this to the test.

Yuko Repair Through can be used on wet or dry hair.  I usually towel dry my hair, let it air dry until it’s damp, and then spray this all over and comb it out.   Aside from conditioning your hair, this spray is also supposed to prevent split ends and reduce tangles.  I’m lucky enough to only cut my hair once a year (no trims), and stay split-end free.  Thus, I can’t really speak for it’s split-end preventing powers, but I will say that it is an excellent detangler.  It also provides some needed moisture to my hair (I wouldn’t say my hair is super dry, but it’s not as smooth as it used to be when I used shampoos with dimethicone) without weighing it down.

Here’s a before and after picture:

My hair looks and feels much smoother afterwards, without any greasiness or oiliness.  This spray doesn’t cause any buildup or stickiness either.  In fact, I can’t even feel the product my hair, and I usually do 10-15 sprays each time.

Oh, and this also doubles as a heat protectant!  Those with sensitive noses will also be glad to know that this product is completely unscented.  I don’t have anything against scented products, but since I spray so much in my hair, I’m glad it doesn’t have a heavy scent.

If you’re a longtime reader of this blog, you might have noticed that the haircare products I used are all from the drugstore.  This isn’t because I don’t think expensive haircare lines aren’t worth the money, it’s because I’ve just never really tried any pricey shampoos or conditioners before.

Which is why I was a little bit shocked that this bottle costs $24.  At 6.8 fl oz, you do get a lot of product, and I don’t think I’m going to run out of this anytime soon (I’ve barely made a dent in the bottle…not that you can dent liquid, but you know I mean).  Do I think this is better than a hair treatment you could get at the drugstore?  Yes, I do.  I’m not sure that I would fork over $24 for it, though.  Even though my hair does need extra moisture, it’s still pretty healthy, and I could probably do without this.  If your hair is really dry or damaged, and if you’re willing to pay extra for a quality haircare product, I think this would be worth the money.

My rating: B+/A-

Full Disclosure: The product reviewed in this post was provided by PR for consideration.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

8 thoughts on “All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter

  1. DUDE! I love LoTR! I’ve always wanted to do a LoTR marathon but no one else wants to watch with me. ;_;

    So, I guess as a science person, lol, dimethicone and silicone are very similar in their properties. Very technically dimethicone IS a silicone, but there are lots of different silicones and some people are sensitive to one and not the other, etc just like some people can put pure soy butter on their face and have no problems while it’s a disaster for other people but can’t use jojoba oil, which actually is closest in structure and composition to human sebum. Silicones don’t really “nourish” or “moisturize” hair, but instead they slick over and help close the hair shaft so moisture stays in. That’s also why they’re heat protectants since they form a barrier between the heat and your hair and help keep the hair shaft closed. (Pretty much any leave-in conditioner will act as a heat protectant.)

    Annnnnd gold is like, one of THE most inert elements ever, and as far as I know, there is absolutely no evidence that it does anything at all in beauty/skincare treatments. (But that doesn’t stop people from paying absurd amounts for gold leaf facials.)

    So… I’m going to guess that your hair is healthy enough that a teensy bit of silicone is all it needs. And I doubt that someone with seriously damaged or dry hair would get much out of this if there isn’t an actual moisturizing ingredient in it, like an oil (but I couldn’t find the ingredients list for it).

    On a somewhat related note, panthenol and other proteins in shampoo is pure BS, as detergent/soap is totally denaturing.

    If you’re looking for a light conditioner, I highly recommend L’Occitane’s cherry blossom one. I have fairly healthy virgin hair too, and I just need a little bit of conditioning to keep it from being dried out in indoor heating and outdoor cold, but not anything heavy to weigh it down and it rinses out easily which is super important to me. The conditioner is on the pricey side but during their semi-annual sale it’s usually marked down to $11 and I’m a bit less than halfway down my bottle almost 7 months in (I only use a pea sized amount each time, which actually makes it cheaper than some drugstore conditioners I’ve gone through). I also really like Fekkai’s Glossing Cream for when it’s super cold. That one’s pricier (but I use so little ’cause my hair’s short and I use it so rarely lol, that I’ve never gotten past halfway a mini tube). HTH =)

    • My friend fell asleep when we watched the first one together -__-
      I usually have to end up watching those alone.
      thanks for the dimethicone info!
      here’s the ingredients list nabbed from pinksith:
      Aqua, Propylene Glycol, Butylene Glycol, Glycine, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium PCA, Betaine, Serine, Glycerin, Glutamic Acid, Alaine, Lysine, Arginine, Threonine, Proline, Cyclomethicone, Aloe Barbadensis, Distearyldimonium Chloride, Steartrimonium Chloride,Dimethicone, Sorbitol, Isopropyl Alcohol, Ethoxydiglycol, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Bultylparaben, Ethylparaben
      According to her description, I think she has much drier hair than mine, and it seems to have worked amazingly well for her too.
      Thanks for the rec! That sounds like a very yummy smelling conditioner.

      • LOL aww.

        Oh awesome! So, propylene glycol, butylene glycol, sodium hyaluronate, sodium pca, aloe, and sorbitol are all humectants which moisturize by virtue of drawing and holding on to water. Then, betaine is an osmolyte which allows cells to maintain high osmotic pressure. I’m not actually sure what it does for hair given hair can be fairly porous and is not closed, but if it does work (in conjunction with the ‘cones smoothing out and closing up the hair shaft) it would basically help the hair shaft plump up with water that the humectants are drawing. Glycine, serine, glutamic acid, what I asume is actually alanine, lysine, arginine, threonine and proline are amino acids. I don’t actually know if topical application of amino acids is effective for repairing hair (I honestly doubt it), but that’s what they’re there for. Cyclomethicone and dimethicone are silicones for smoothing the hair shaft and locking in the moisture. Disteryldimonium chloride and steartrimonium chloride are emulsifiers derived from stearic acid – they make the water play nice with the glycols and ‘cones. The alcohol is probably there to help the product dry quickly when you spray it on your hair. Ethoxydiglycol is another organic solvent… it’s probably there to improve solubility of something else, and then everything else on the list are preservatives.

        So, this product draws a ton of water to your hair to moisturize and keep it from dehydrating, and then coats the hair shaft to smooth and further prevent dehydration and breakage. HTH!

        • definitely helps :) I’m having some bio flashbacks right now lol. Despite my feelings towards science in general, biology was probably my favorite. That class was just impossible, but I found it interesting.

  2. Wow, your hair’s long *and* shiny! :D I’m not opposed to paying a bit more if it works since my hair is susceptible to dry ends. Thank you for the review, doll!

    (Hee hee…I love that we love the same things! I am with you on the IN-N-Out and PappaRich. Still need to pay a visit to 1810!)

  3. Your hair is soooo long and shiny! There’s a big difference between your before and after photos. I guess this thing really works. Your hair makes me miss my long hair very much but I’m going to keep my hair at this current length for a while.

    • Your hair always looks so perfectly in place in your FOTD photos! I think I usually like to keep my hair around your length at its shortest. I used to have super short up to my ear haircuts when I was a kid, and I wasn’t crazy about that look on me…

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

