Drugstore / Eyes / Mid End

Found It! (A Dupe for KATE Gel Eyeshadow)

Remember when I wrote that glowing review of the KATE Gel Eyeshadow, and then asked you not to throw things at me?  Well you definitely shouldn’t be throwing things at me today because I found a dupe for those of you who can’t get your hands on KATE products.

I was aimlessly breezing through Sephora one day when I espied-out-of-the-corner-of-my-eye a tube of cream shadow that looked strangely familiar.  I raised my hand, and asked the SA to package up a nice little sample for me please.  Then I got home, and went to work.

Ok, first swatches:

Can you even tell the difference?

And here are swatches in direct sunlight, where those nice plummy brown tones come out:

I guess in that last picture, Urban Decay Cream Shadow in Mushroom (that’s the one on the right) pulls a little more brown than KATE GY-1 does, but the difference is negligible.  Of course, the textures are very different as well.  The Urban Decay shadow has your typical cream shadow texture, while the KATE shadow, being a bouncy gel, is something else entirely.  But the colors, eh?  Pretty good!

Hope this helps someone out there :D

~Makeup Morsels

 

18 thoughts on “Found It! (A Dupe for KATE Gel Eyeshadow)

    • TBH, I prefer the KATE gel shadow texture, only because I’ve never come across anything like it before! That being said, there is nothing wrong with the UD formulation, in fact it’s quite a nice cream shadow. It just doesn’t have that awesome bounce and cooling sensation that the KATE shadow has.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

