Mid End / Nails

Pretty in Pink with Glitter Gal

Ooh, lookit!  My large, creepy hand coming to get you!

So, I’m sure all of you are well aware of my feelings towards pink nail polish.  I don’t dislike it…per se… I just find myself getting bored of it super, super quickly.  I’ll usually remove a pink manicure the same day I paint it on.  However, I somehow managed to keep the manicure pictured above on for three days without getting bored of it.  I would’ve kept it on even longer, but we’ve discussed my inability to take my exams with nail polish on.

Oh yeah, speaking of exams, today’s was a real hum-dinger.  I decided to write about Heart of Darkness for my essay.  What was I thinking?!  I didn’t even fully understand that book!  Oh, and then I went into how he’s on a boat…

*sigh*

Yup, I’m on a boat.  With no oars.

Ok, onto the review!

Glitter Gal is an Australian brand, with a strong focus on their nail polish range.  This is their 3D/holographic nail polish in Fuchsia:

When I first got the bottle, I was expecting a hot pink/bright pinky-purple color, but it looked more like a medium pink to me.  Well, this color changes so much in different lighting that I still don’t really have it figured out.  Sometimes it’s a pale pink, sometimes it’s a medium fuschia, and sometimes it’s a medium pink.  Very confusing business.

The formula was amazing to work with.  All of my nails were one-coaters, and the polish just went wherever I wanted it to go on my nail, so that I didn’t have to do any cleanup with this manicure.  The brush was nicely shaped, and I think it probably contributed to the super smooth application.  Dry time was also excellent; I didn’t even have to use Seche Vite on this.

As for the holo effect, this particular color is more of a scatter holo than a smooth circle holo.  The holo flakes in the polish tend to light up most under yellow lighting or outdoors.

I tried my best to capture the holo effect on camera, but it was difficult:

My only issue with this polish was the teeny-tiny size.  This just might be the smallest bottle of polish I own:

size comparison next to China Glaze Ruby Pumps

On top of that, these retail for AUD $9.95 each (the US equivalent is just a few cents cheaper), which I find to be a slightly high price point for the amount of product.  I can’t deny that the formula is amazing, though, and I’m impressed that they actually made a pink that I’m willing to wear for such a long period of time.

My rating: A-

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The product reviewed in this post was provided by PR for consideration.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

12 thoughts on “Pretty in Pink with Glitter Gal

  1. Oh that’s gorgeous!!

    (And dude… I once “skimmed” a bit of Heart of Darkness and I couldn’t even tell what was happening in one paragraph, I swear the average words/sentence was like 40+ or something crazy like that. I think I spent all of my brainpower just trying to parse the phrasing. o_O; The prose is freaking beautiful though, if not really intelligible.)

    • I think the prose is really beautiful as well, but I do not enjoy reading page-long sentences! *sigh* At least I get to turn my English brain off now, it’s been on overdrive for the past week.

  2. Oh yes…Ruby Pumps…

    Would you believe it if I told you that before I loved red, I loved pink? ;) Considering pink’s not your thang, having it on your nails for that long speaks volumes about how it rocks. I’m not too sure that price correlates with the size of the bottle though. *scratches head*

    (I know, the soup looks pretty unappealing, doesn’t it? Congrats on your first pair of boots…woot!! Now, I want to see them too! :D

  3. I love pink nail polishes and this one is gorgeous! it’s good to know that th formula’s wonderful too! I like small bottles of nail polishes as I can never finish one anyway but I agree with you that for such a small amount the price is too high. Still, it’s very tempting..

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

