Beauty Tools / Product Reviews

Put a Spring in Your Step with the My Spring It

Guess the object!

In case you have no idea what you’re looking at, I’m reviewing the My Spring It today.  It’s a hair-removal spring-device that comes in pink, red, and black.  It works by grabbing your hair between the coils, and then pulling it out.  Think of it as a spring which does the work of multiple tweezers.

If you’re still a little bit confused, I snagged their instructional video:

Their method doesn’t work for me all the time (sometimes I have to curve the MSI differently), but the general idea is to make a U-shape, and then roll it back and forth to pull the hairs out.  Sometimes, I like to use Scrangie’s method, where I curve the MSI to grasp the hairs, and then straighten it out before I start rolling.

So how well does it work?

Well, I’ll get into all of that in a moment, but first let me go over what I’ve tried in the past.

First off, there’s waxing.  Since wax only grabs onto hair of a certain length, I’m never able to get every single hair, plus I have to deal with the post-waxing redness.  And hair removal creams cause the same redness, and usually don’t get all of my hair either.  Tweezing is another option, but I’m not even going to pretend to have the patience to go over my entire upper lip with a pair of tweezers.

Thankfully, the My Spring It delivers.  I was really impressed by the MSI’s ability to get every single hair on my upper lip.  You know those tiny hairs near your cupid’s bow that you can never really get?  Well, the spring somehow manages to grab onto all of them.  The result is a completely hair-free upper lip, which I’ve never encountered with another hair-removal product before.  Since the MSI is so pro at catching baby hair, you don’t  really need to wait for the hair to grow out before you use it.  In addition, it requires zero battery power/electricity to operate, which means you can use it anywhere, at any time.

The MSI comes in a black velvet carrying pouch = travel friendly!

To be honest, I was a little bit scared to use this at first.  Some of the reviews I read described the process as extremely painful, which was at odds with the website’s promise of nothing more than “a slight sensation.”

Ok, I would never ever call this a slight sensation, but it’s definitely a bearable pain.  I’d describe the pain level as on par with waxing, except it doesn’t sting nearly as much afterwards, plus it leaves no redness whatsoever.

Cleanup is also relatively simple.  All you have to do is pull slightly on both ends of the spring, and blow the hairs out.  The My Spring It retails online for $16, which I find a very reasonable price for a hair-removal product that doesn’t damage my skin.

My rating: A+

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The product reviewed in this post was provided by PR for consideration.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

4 thoughts on “Put a Spring in Your Step with the My Spring It

  1. I have something similar and it works really well to remove the fuzzes. It’s minimal pain compared to waxing and tweezing. Also, it’s fast. I’m glad you got a chance to review it.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

