The Wednesday Wigeon

The Wednesday Wigeon No.10

I know it’s not Lunar New Year until tomorrow, but since I’m celebrating it tonight, I’d like to wish all of you (who also celebrate it) a happy Lunar New Year.  The other day in the car (while I was half asleep, mind you) I turned groggily to my mom and we had this conversation:

Me: When is Lunar New Year?

Mom: This Thursday…

Me: No, I mean, when is it on the Lunar Calendar?

Me: Oh wait, I know!  duhduhduh

This reminds me of another conversation I had recently with my best friend Tomi.  This also occurred early morning in the car.  Are you beginning to see a pattern here?

Me: I don’t really remember anything from AP Euro

Tomi: Yeah, like how WWII started.

Me: Wait, how did it start?

*5 minutes of silence*

Me: Oh yeah, Hitler!

Anyways, since this is The Wednesday Wigeon after all, I have to ask you guys a question.

If you’re celebrating it, what are your plans for Lunar New Year?  And if not, what are your plans for the weekend?

恭喜發財,兔年行大運!

Especially to Annie, if you’re reading this,

希望妳過個平平安安的新年

還有,希望我們今年能再見面

*我還是都有在唸你的posts,但是唸完就沒力氣去comment哈哈哈。我的中文比你的英文差多了…

~Makeup Morsels

18 thoughts on “The Wednesday Wigeon No.10

  1. YAY I could read the Chinese (sorry if I’m creeping on your note to Annie, but I couldn’t resist trying to read something in Chinese)! Happy Lunar New Year to you too! I’m celebrating/eating/praying tonight too! It’s already Lunar New Year in Asia so it’s aaaaallll gooood. :)

    • hahahah oh I will always have infinite respect for you. It just always amazes me that you still have respect for me. It must’ve been that heart-wrenching shrub story I wrote for you.

  2. I usually celebrate Chinese New Year with a hotpot, but unfortunately the roomie and I are coming up on some scheduling issues right now since we have Medlink on Saturday and then she’s leaving to go home for the rest of the weekend. I … will probably just try to go dancing on Sunday. My mom’s visiting next week though, since my uncle comes to the US once a year for CNY, so I’m sure we’ll have a belated celebration then. =)

    & LOL. I was so confused at your first question ’cause I couldn’t figure it out either and then I was like … OHHHHHH LOLLLLLLL. So you’re not alone. =P

    • same here! Actually, come to think of it, I celebrate every holiday with hotpot. It’s just a good celebration food! aww, well I hope you enjoy your belated celebration! and yayy glad I’m not alone in my confusion LOL

  3. I see a correlation with your brain and the car. :P Happy Lunar New Year! Well, the hubs and I went out for breakfast but other than that it will be pretty quiet today. I’ll be seeing my fam on Saturday to celebrate my dad’s b-day so I guess we’ll be celebrating the new year too that day. ;)

  4. 哈哈哈
    新年快樂啊!!!

    你的中文真的很不錯耶~
    我過年去放了天燈還有去親戚家拜年:D
    有些親戚住在鄉下
    鄉下地方沒有網路讓我很受不了XDDDD

    晚了一點
    但還是希望你新的一年都很平安快樂!!!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

