Base / Mid End

Urban Decay Concealer: Surreal in a Bottle

When I hear the words surreal or hallucination, I usually think of those midnight to 2 am piano practice sessions of last year.  The keys would all blur in front of my face, and suddenly I’d be drooling on my piano with my face pressed up against some sheet music.  Lovely.  Needless to say, I spent more time in la-la-land than…what do you call it?  The frolicky field of do-re-mi?

Anyways, those are the things that I associate with surreal hallucinations.

Urban Decay, however, clearly has a different definition for the phrase.  Their Surreal Skin Creamy Concealer offers medium coverage in a hypnotic-looking bottle.  The packaging reminds me of their primer potion (obviously it’s not exactly the same), but I’m guessing that I’ll also have to cut this one open to get at the remaining dregs of product.

It’s got a nice doe-foot applicator for spreading the product under your eyes or on top of your blemishes:

The product itself has a liquidy (but not overly runny) consistency.  It actually reminds me a lot of my Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Double Face Perfector, which I really liked for its texture and blendability.  The reason I stopped using the Maybelline concealer was because it was in the light-medium coverage range, and I found myself needing something way more heavy-duty.  Urban Decay’s Concealer has better coverage (I’d give it a solid medium), with excellent blendability.  The finish also looks very natural under my eyes, and doesn’t crease or cake.

I got this concealer in the color Hallucination:

It’s on the right-hand side of that picture.  The concealer on the left is the one I’m currently using, which will be reviewed later this week (I know it looks way too light for my skintone, but these were swatched on the back of my hand, which is a whole lot darker than my face).  So, as you can see, Hallucination is not a good match for my skintone.  Those of you who have light or light-medium skintones would probably be better off going with Dreamy, the lighter shade.

Speaking of shades, the shade selection of this concealer is rather limited, with only 2 to choose from.  Still, if you can find your match, and if you don’t need anything heavy coverage, this should do the trick.  If you like the Maybelline concealer, I think this would actually be the better value, despite its higher price tag.  Let me explain.

Now, I don’t know if this is the case for everyone, but I found that the highlighter side of my Maybelline concealer was virtually unusable.  In fact, I actually threw that whole thing away once I was through with the concealer.  The highlighter wasn’t pearly/glowy enough to use as a cheekbone highlighter, and it looked rather unnatural on my inner corners.  If you’ve found a way to make that end of the duo work, that’s great for you.  If you haven’t, however, would you rather pay $9 for the 0.18 oz Maybelline concealer (and only use half of that), or pay $16 for the 0.32 oz Urban Decay concealer?  *hint hint* I’d pick the second one.

All in all, this is a great, medium-coverage liquid concealer for “normal days.”  It won’t fully conceal panda-eye dark circles (like mine), but it does a great job perking up the undereye area.

My rating: A-

Full Disclosure: The product in this post was provided by PR for review and consideration.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

6 thoughts on “Urban Decay Concealer: Surreal in a Bottle

  1. Oh geez, I hope you’re not going through those early morning sessions anymore. :(

    Darn, I need something for my panda eyes. @_@ I’m surprised that they decided to keep the same packaging considering the complaints. Either they haven’t been paying attention or don’t give a hoot. (Or both) I do like reading about the liquid-y consistency though. It makes it so much easier to blend! :)

    (Aw, thanks!)

    • Nope, not so much. I decided to start going to sleep when I was tired this year to take better care of my body. I was sick pretty much every other week last year. Well, to be fair, the complaints have been directed more at UDPP, and they did make a squeeze tube version of that. I don’t think anyone’s outright complained about the concealer packaging yet, even though it is very similar.

  2. This sounds like a nice concealer but I can’t understand why they haven’t changed the packaging yet. It is so annoying having to cut the tube open to get what’s left inside of the product! And it is also a shame that there are only two shades available. Not many people would be able to find a good match then.

    • Like I told Lisa, I think they haven’t changed this packaging b/c people complain a lot about UDPP packaging, but not so much about this, even though the containers are similar. At least the packaging can be cut through… I suppose.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

