Product Reviews / Skincare

Britain’s Best Kept Beauty Secret (A Review)

Why-oh-why would anyone ever want to keep this product a secret?

See, I’m not going to do that to you.  I’m going to be a supremely helpful beauty blogger today, and introduce all of you to the wonder that is Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser.

Have you heard of it before?

*drumroll*

It’s a makeup remover, cleanser, and gentle exfoliator all in one.

pretty sticker and wrapping paper.  not 100% relevant to the post, but I had to include it.

The cleanser comes in a tranquil looking, cucumber-green bottle with a pump applicator.  You will be pleased to hear that the pump applicator is a well-behaved one that dispenses the perfect amount of product each time.  The product itself almost feels like a creamy lotion, and I love how it sinks into my skin.

To use this cleanser, I rub it all over my dry (pre-washed) face, run the included muslin cloth under hot water, and then wipe away!  To complete the process, I simply rinse my face with cold water, and dry it.

I was impressed with the Liz Earle Hot Cloth Cleanser’s ability to remove all of my makeup, including my mascara.  I’d liken it to a cream version of my DHC cleansing oil, although I’m not sure how this would fare against super hardcore mascaras like Majolica Majorca Lash Expander Frame Plus.   The muslin cloth is a mystery to me.  I can feel it exfoliating my skin, yet it seems to be gentle enough to wipe away my makeup without irritating the skin around my eyes.  It leaves my skin glowing and soft, but never tight or overly scrubbed.

The only gripe I have with this system is that it takes some elbow grease to rub makeup (especially mascara) out of the cloth once it’s transferred.  I throw the cloth into the washing machine every 2-3 uses though, and this seems to get the most stubborn stains out.

As far as scent goes, this smells like a very wholesome lavender.  I used to hate the scent of lavender as a child, but thankfully I’ve gotten over it…which is a good thing, since half the skincare/bath products out there are lavender-scented.

For $24.50, the Liz Earle Hot Cloth Cleanser Starter Kit includes a 3.3 fl oz bottle (good size), 2 reusable muslin cloths, and a carrying pouch.  Frankly, I was surprised when I saw the price.  I’d probably be willing to pay twice that amount for the quality of this product.

Liz Earle Hot Cloth Cleanser is celebrating its 15th anniversary this year (eeks, that might be 16th, since I received this at the end of last year), so join me as I sing a belated Happy Birthday to this little morsel of magic.

Happy belated Birthday to you,

Happy belated Birthday to you,

Happy belated Birthday dear Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanserrr…

Why is no one singing with me?!

My rating: A

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The item in this post was provided by PR for consideration.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

6 thoughts on “Britain’s Best Kept Beauty Secret (A Review)

  1. This is my HG cleanser and I’m glad you like it too. I love how it removes all traces of makeup yet it so gentle and leaves skin soft and bright. I don’t like having to wash the cloths so often but that’s a very small price to pay considering how well this cleanser works. :)

  2. *sings with you* “Happy belated Birthday to you….”

    Wow, I’m surprised by that price! I’ve heard of this brand but for some reason always thought it was on the pricey side? (Not that $24.50 is cheap but you know what I mean) ;)

  3. This is a really interesting concept for a cleanser! I would like to see how you say it removes heavier eye makeup. Oh, and I can definitely see that it is a cloth now! hehehe… ma b. I wonder how long that amount of product lasts (?)

    And I was singing with you before you were singing. But I just had a very soft voice… listen now… I’m still singing…

    • Oh, I think it fares nicely against heavy eye makeup. Majo Majo is just…in its own category. I had trouble getting that off even with my cleansing oil.
      I think it’ll last for a long time. The bottle’s big, and you only need a little bit of product.
      HAHAHAH I love it when you softly sing with me xD

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

