Base / Product Reviews

Diandra Cosmetics Part 2: Bronzed, Not Burned

It has recently come to my attention that when I say things like:

What I really mean is that I want to crawl into my nice, warm bed, and go back to sleep.

Likewise, when I say things like, “Look!  I’m an Oompa Loompa,” what I really mean is that I’m wearing a bronzer meant for…normal people.

You see, being NC15 means that I can’t wear normal bronzers, even if they aren’t offensively orange-toned.  They just make me look like a rotting pumpkin.  And I don’t want to look like a rotting pumpkin!  Nor do I want to look like a robust pumpkin in the prime of life…I just don’t want to look like a pumpkin, ok?!

Enter Diandra Sun-Kissed Bronzer…

Like the other Diandra product I reviewed last week, the bronzer comes encased in classy, navy blue packaging with gold accents.

Oh, and there’s a brush in there too, which is soft and handy.

This universally flattering shade has just a hint of gold shimmer to give you that sexy, sun-kissed glow. Just brush on this gorgeous bronzer to add instant warmth and radiance to your complexion…and look like a sun goddess all year-round

(text snippet from cosmetique.com)

Gold shimmer…I’m not seeing that.  But I love how I can actually wear this bronzer without transforming into an orange blob.  Score!

Here’s a swatch:

I don’t know how well you can see that, but I definitely wouldn’t call it gold shimmer.  Not even a little bit.  It is, however, a warm-toned powder that is sheer enough to look natural on fair skintones.

On my skin, it adds a faint touch of glowy warmth that makes me look alive in this bleak winter weather.  Which, btw, I’m actually kind of loving right now.

Here’s a full face picture for comparison purposes:

See how I look happy and angelic wearing the Diandra Bronzer?

The powder is very smooth and finely milled, and in general, I love it (in case you couldn’t tell by my beaming expression in the picture above).  Plus, yay for no creeping issues!  That being said, I’m not so sure how this would look on people with darker skintones since it’s pretty darn sheer!  My guess is that it would still subtly warm up any complexion, but don’t quote me on that.  I’ll have to find someone to test that on.

Wow, this review has been all over the place, sorry!

To sum up:

~smooth texture

~clean, classy packaging

~good bronzer for pale people

Diandra Sun-Kissed Bronzer retails for $18 at cosmetique.com.

My rating: ?/A (A for me, ? for people this might not show up on)

Full Disclosure: The product in this post was provided by PR for review and consideration.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

3 thoughts on “Diandra Cosmetics Part 2: Bronzed, Not Burned

  1. Another bronzer you might want to consider is the NYC Smooth Skin Bronzing Face Powder. It comes in one color, called Sunny, which works quite well on my pale, warm toned skin. It’s pretty light for a bronzer, and rather more brown than orange. I’ve used it for some subtle contouring, and it actually blends in very well (my skin is about NC 15 to NC 20, going by the foundation matrix and the foundations I’ve matched). Anyway, for $3, it’s probably worth a try. I’ve not had much luck with the rest of the NYC stuff I’ve tried though.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

