EOTD (Eye of the Day) / Food!

Free Pancakes! + Jill Stuart EOTD and Review

Ok, yesterday’s post featured some pretty flat writing.  I’m sorry!  I can’t be counted on to deliver quality material 100% of the time though, no matter how hard I try.  Hopefully today’s promise of free pancakes will make up for it :D

I originally had the Part III Diandra review planned for today, but then I found out about this nifty thing called National Pancake Day.

Which is obviously more important than any review I could have posted…

I promise I’m not making this up.  Go visit your nearest IHOP today, and you can get 3 free pancakes per person until 10 pm!  How do I know this?  Well, my Chinese teachers are very knowledgeable women.

I just turned your day:

Now for an EOTD that I’ve been sitting on for awhile.  Remember my Jill Stuart Seductive Eyes Palette in Mysterious Queen?

You probably don’t.  Long story short, my aunt gifted it to me while I was in Taiwan, and I spent quite some time oohing and awwing over the pretty packaging.  Of course, it was completely useless to me in Taiwan, since nobody there wears a lick of eyeshadow.

The packaging is gorgeous, of course.  Jill Stuart is well known for their elaborate, princessy packaging.  I can see how this wouldn’t be everyone’s cup of tea, but I like it a lot.  I have to admit that I was quite surprised by how flimsy the case was, though.  Doesn’t it look very luxe and substantial?

Well…its not.  the part that looks like glass is plastic.  The part that looks like weighty metal is…also plastic.  On top of that, I wasn’t a huge fan of the shadow texture.  I could not for the life of me get them to work with a blending brush, so in the end I did the entire look with one flat eyeshadow brush, dragging and patting instead of blending.  Also, you cannot use these shadows without a primer, unless you enjoy looking like the glitter fairy died on your face.

All that being said, the colors are quite pretty:

These are probably the easiest-to-wear pink eyeshadows I’ve ever come across.  Hmmm…perhaps it’s because they’re glittery and slightly sheer.

Would I ever pay $50-$70 for this?  Nope.  I do confess that I’m still eyeing the JS eye jellies, though.  Particularly the taupe ones…

My EOTD:

Now hurry, and go get your complimentary pancakes!

~Makeup Morsels

10 thoughts on “Free Pancakes! + Jill Stuart EOTD and Review

  1. I think you did a really good job, considering the formula you described :] I like you in plummy pinks / maroons, you should do that more often! This reminded me of how it’s always a drag when you think something is going to be really nice when you order online and then it comes and you’re like. DUDE. -_-

  2. Definitely agree with you that JS has indeed the pretties and most princess-y packaging ever, but the quality of the materials for their packaging is not the best though. Rather than hard plastic, there goes lightweight and flimsy material instead, which is quite disappointing indeed. Booh! :|

    As to the eyeshadow texture, I also have to agree that they are not the smoothest to blend, and shimmer overload is mostly the case. So, more appropriate for going out night looks rather than neutral daytime looks.

    Anyhow, I like your EOTD! The colors blend together so prettily!

  3. I always though Jill Stuart products to have gorgeous and elegant packaging, but how disappointing to know it’s just flimsy plastic. :(

    The colors are pretty but it’s a shame about the formula. You did a good job with them though, look the look you did.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

