Eyes / Product Reviews

Presenting: Real False Lashes

Imagine if my real lashes looked like this…actually that would be a little bit scary.

Recently, I sat down with myself, and said (yes, as in I was talking to myself.  This conversation may or may not have taken place entirely inside my head),

“Makeup Morsels, let’s put this in perspective.  You’ve been beauty blogging for a pretty long time.  Don’t you think you might want to at least try putting on a pair of false lashes?  And not with Photoshop.”

Hmmm, good point.

See, as realistic as these might look (see below), they’re not real.  They’re fake false lashes!

creds: lash stamps from http://www.obsidiandawn.com

So this weekend, I stepped into the world of real false lashes for a little adventure.

One pair of Ardell Invisiband Black Wispies + …

…one tube of Duo lash glue = …

Real false lashes!  I dropped these so many times.  I don’t think my brain was ready for the fact that these were tangible objects.  It kept yelling no, I refuse to believe this!  Go back into Photoshop where you belong!

The nice thing about a clear band is that the lashes look very natural on.  When I first saw the Wispies, I thought they would be way too dramatic to wear anywhere, but they actually look semi-normal on.  I might even wear them (trimmed down) for a night out.  Possibly.

Invisible band:

(I accidentally chopped off part of the flared outer corner instead of the inner corner.  Woops).

These are very easy to use.  I’ve never worn/applied false lashes in my life before this, but I got it in one try.  And no, I am not a person who normally does new things in one try.

To apply, I dragged the lashes through the glue, and then waited about 30 seconds before pressing them into my lashline with a pair of tweezers.

When removal time rolled around, I dragged a q-tip soaked in makeup remover across the band to loosen it, and then took it off starting from the inner corner.  Lastly, since these are reusable, I sanitized the lashes with some alcohol, and then rinsed them off with water.  I didn’t use any mascara on them, so I figured it would be ok to leave the cleaning at that.

I can see why everyone hypes up Ardell lashes now.  They’re comfortable, easy to apply, and most importantly, affordable and accessible.  The clear Duo lash glue was also a breeze to use (although be careful how much you squeeze out, the glue is runnier than I expected it to be).  I think I’ll swing by CVS soon, and pick up a few more pairs.

Are you a seasoned false-lash applier, or just starting out like me?

~Makeup Morsels

P.S. Due to extreme fatigue and crummy feelings, the wigeon plans to take a vacation tomorrow, but will return next week laden with questions and things.

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were provided by PR for consideration and review.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

16 thoughts on “Presenting: Real False Lashes

  1. Hope the wigeon enjoys his (or her?) break! ;) As for falsies, let’s just say I started out, failed and kinda gave up. =\ BUT, these look super fluttery and pretty on you! Keep it up!

    (Thanks! But words of wisdom? More like ramblings…lol)

    • The wigeon is having a nice vacation, thank you very much! I always think of the wigeon as a male fowl…no idea why! You should try w/ these, they’re very user-friendly. Ramblings of wisdom then!

  2. Those look really nice on you. I have little asian eyes so almost every fake eyelash looks way too dramatic. I love Ardell’s 108, 109 and 110. They look quite natural, I can even get away with wearing them to work.

    I’ve a total noob at applying fake lashes too but it gets easier with much practice.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

