Base / Eyes / Product Reviews

Ring In Spring with Clarins Part II

Read Part I here.

It’s the return of the red velvet pouches (plus some cheesy lighting)!  I’m convinced that Clarins does the best packaging.  Ever.  Their spring packaging is much less substantial-feeling than their super-luxe and weighty holiday packaging was, but it still looks sleek and classy.  A word of warning, though: the shiny gold metal attracts fingerprints like those zappy bug lights attract…bugs.

First up is Blush Prodige in 04 Sunset Coral.  The pan is split up into two matte strips juxtaposed with two shimmery blocks.  Sunset Coral is a gorgeous, warm peachy-coral color that injects some glow into my skin without looking too obvious.

I love that they included a blush brush, which actually does a decent job when I’m on-the-go.

Swatches:

from left to right: shimmery shades, matte shades, everything swirled together

The blush is finely milled and very lightweight.  It’s not at all powdery or chalky, and glides smoothly across my cheeks.  Wear time is excellent; it generally lasts all day on me.  At $28, which is a pretty reasonable price for a high-end blush, it’s worth every penny.  Clarins Blush Prodige also comes in 5 other shades, all equally gorgeous (MUAHAHA, I just made your wallet cringe).

My rating: A+

The final product I’m reviewing from the Neo Pastels collection is the Eye Colour & Liner Palette:

Oh you pretty pastels, you!

Swatches (dry, no primer):

The colors are absolutely gorgeous, shimmery pastels.  Each bottom row shade is a deeper variation on the shadow above it, so the colors all match up very well.  In addition, the shimmer is nice and subtle, and the colors blend beautifully.  I love the color selection of this palette, especially the pinky-peach eyeshadows.

Another cool thing about this palette is that the applicator comes with your standard sponge-tip on one side, and a pointy sponge on the other side:

The pointy side is great for applying the included  black cream liner:

No, it’s not the blackest black I’ve tried (that honor goes to my L’oreal HIP liner here), but it’s smooth and and pigmented.  Plus, it complements the springy shadows nicely.  This palette is on the pricey side at $40, but you do get 6 gorgeous shadows and a cream liner.  The shadows have no fallout, so you don’t have to worry about powder getting on the liner.  I’ve found that Clarins shadows foil very nicely, making it easy to amp up the lighter colors if you want them to look more vibrant.

My rating: B+/A-

So that wraps up the Clarins Spring collection!  I think Clarins is quickly becoming my favorite high-end makeup brand.  Do you see anything you like?

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were provided by PR for consideration and review.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

5 thoughts on “Ring In Spring with Clarins Part II

    • I love all of Clarin’s packaging. They’re so good at wrapping things up! hehe you really like your purples I guess! I get very excited whenever I see a taupe, even it’s identical to one I already own. Ohh, and I get crazy excited when I see duochrome shadows.

  1. how about the ever matte powder compact, it’s look similar with the blush one, but i cant find it on google, what’s wrong with that ? may i buy the fake one :((

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

