Food Features / Food!

Say Cheese(cake)!

Happy Saturday everyone!  I woke up at 11:30 today, and sat in my Snuggie reading Paris Pattiseries (which is supremely drool-worthy, and thus now on my blogroll) for a looong time.

Anyways, that got me thinking, whatever happened to the Morsels portion of Makeup Morsels?  I had all these food reviews lined up from my summer, and then I never got around to doing them.  Anyways, the pictures are still percolating on my hard drive (those restaurants are in far-off Taiwan, and I don’t want you to throw things at me.  Maybe another day…)

But today, I wanted to introduce you to my favorite cheesecake of all time.  I’ll be honest, I’m not a big fan of cheesecake.  I know The Cheesecake Factory is quite popular here, but I’ve always found their desserts far too sweet and heavy.  I can eat maybe one bite, and then I’m done.  And that one bite isn’t very enjoyable for me anyways, so no, I don’t enjoy paying $6 for a slice of cheesecake that doesn’t take me straight to food heaven.

Ok, back to the morsel at hand.  I know 99 Ranch Market doesn’t seem like a likely destination for my magical cheesecake, but that’s where I get it from…

You know how they have a little bakery section (off to the side when you first walk in)?  They sell an entire cheesecake for around $5, and it’s good.

*Note: Yes, these pictures have been retouched.  I think this is the first time I’ve ever retouched food pictures for my blog (normally don’t do it because I only have baby Photoshop at home), but in class I never print out a food image without retouching it first.  Food just doesn’t translate very well on film…plus the lighting was not great today.

CHEESECAKE EXPLOSION! (yumyum)

So what makes this cheesecake special?  Well, first of all, it’s wonderfully light and fluffy.   If you were too distill the essence of John Brown’s beard and translate that into a cake texture, this is what you’d end up with.

Oh-so-fluffy!

Furthermore, the taste is clean instead of overwhelmingly sweet.  The majority of the cake is composed of a light, cream cheese mousse with a browned top (the top tastes like the outside of those Asian bread buns).  The mousse (which btw is not exactly mousse, since it’s more dense and dry than your standard mousse) sits on top of a 1 cm sponge cake base that gives a little bit of substance to the whole thing.  IMO, this is what all cheesecake should taste like.  You get the sweet taste of the cream cheese, but its sweetness is more like fresh milk than ten pounds of sugar.

The 99 Ranch Market cheesecake gets a double thumbs-up from me.  I highly recommend you go check it out soon!

~Makeup Morsels

10 thoughts on “Say Cheese(cake)!

  1. Mm! That looks like my fav kind of cheesecake – the fluffy light kindddd!!! Need to get onto making my own at some point!

    • Fluffy and light beats heavy and sweet any day xD I’ve been wanting to cook something for the longest time, but I just never get around to it. There’s a lot of things I want to make…or make again, but they all take so much time. Must do it over the summer or something~

  2. Haha…love the re-appearance of John Brown’s beard! :P Sounds yummers! I’ve seen this there but never tried it.

    Hmm….I never retouch any of my photos. Maybe I should? But then again, I’m too lazy to. :(

    • John Brown’s beard is the gift that keeps on giving~ Definitely pick it up next time! And let me know what you think if you do. I never used to care until I brought in some food pictures to photo class this year, and my teacher was like OKAYY now we retouch them to make them look edible. I was like oh… never noticed that before. I think if you have really good lighting though, you can just leave them as they are.

  3. This is so timely. I’ve been watching a lot of Friends lately and just watched the episode where Chandler and Rachel keep stealing these cheesecakes and eating them. They even eat one off the floor. And it made me really hungry for the stuff.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

