Base / Eyes / Product Reviews

Girl with the (Eve) Pearl Earring

No, there’s no earring in this post, but it was witty and…

Ok, fine, it’s not witty at all.  In fact, most of you are probably wincing in pain from the *har har funny!* title right now.  But cut me some slack!  My brain can only handle so much at a time, after all.

Today, I’ve got a couple of Eve Pearl products to review for you (pokes picture above).  Eve Pearl is a well-known makeup artist, so I was curious to see how well her products performed.  First up on the chopping block is the Smudgeproof Liquid Eyeliner in Black Pearl.

First off, I love the packaging of her entire line.  I do have a thing for fancy-shmancy cases, but I also appreciate makeup brands that follow the simple and streamlined path to packaging.  The eyeliner pen is nice and slim, with a superfine, tapered brush point.  I love the amount of control I get with the pen tip, and I can easily draw very fine – medium lines with it:

Notice how my lines look like lines instead of awkward zigzags.  Miracle of miracles!

As you can tell from the picture above, this liner leans more brown-black than blackest black.  Normally, I’d gripe and whine about that, but I think I can forgive Eve Pearl for this one (although I do wish they’d introduce some more colors, as this is a fabulous product) since the liner performs so well.  This is the first liner that hasn’t smudged on me at all, and that includes my arsenal of gel liners.  Yes, it does fade a bit on my lower lashline as I go throughout my day, but it never smudges or migrates.  The formula of this liner is very wet (no duh, you say, it’s a liquid liner) and dry time takes about 2 minutes, so I have to be careful not to blink while it sets.  Once it’s dry, though, it doesn’t leave any imprint on my lids, and stays strong on my upper lashline throughout the entire day without primer.

Unfortunately, this little pen-full of perfection comes at a price.  The Smudgeproof Liquid Eyeliner will set you back $26.  Although that seems to be the case with most liquid liners of this type, it’s still a bit expensive.  On the other hand, I haven’t seen a single [non-Asian] drugstore liquid liner with a pen tip this thin, so I guess you have to go high-end if you want a liquid liner like this one.  Cmon drugstores, step it up!

My rating: A+ for the product, A- when taking the price into consideration

Next up is the Dual Salmon Concealer & Treatment in Light/Medium.  This is probably the most-hyped product in the entire Eve Pearl lineup, so let’s just say I was a bit disappointed by its performance.

The compact comes with two undereye concealers, one which leans peachy (Light) and one which is more salmon-toned (Medium):

Ok, well I guess I’ll go over the good stuff first.  I do like the formula, which spreads very easily.  It’s got a nice slip, and you can easily pat it into place.  I also like the packaging, and the fact that this comes with a mirror.  Highly useful, right?  Another plus of salmon-toned concealers is that they can be more medium than full coverage (which this one is), and still work well because they’re so good at neutralizing purple dark circles.

Now the bad.  I think this picture pretty much sums it up:

I expected the Medium shade to be a little dark for me, but look at the Light shade!  I know my skin lies towards the paler end of the spectrum at NC15, but I’m not the palest person out there either.  And besides, I doubt the light shade would work for anyone under NC/NW20, maybe even 25.  Normally, I wouldn’t rag on a company’s shades this much, but given the fact that Eve Pearl has won awards for her makeup skills, I would expect her to have a comprehensive range of shades for face makeup.

I know salmon-toned concealers are usually a little bit darker than multipurpose/blemish concealers so they can counteract the purple in undereye circles, but I also know it’s possible to have a salmon-toned undereye concealer that matches my skin.  In fact, my HG undereye circle banisher is a salmon concealer, but it’s salmon-toned while being suitable for NC15 skin.

While the formula is nice, the shades give me pause, especially when this duo is priced at $35.  I really don’t think the Light shade is appropriately named, and if you look at the swatches, it’s actually very close to the Medium shade.  NC/NW30 – 35 ladies might like this, but if you fall under that range, this is one concealer to avoid.  When I take the hype and price into consideration, I do have to say that this product was a letdown.

My rating: C+/B-

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were provided by PR for consideration and review.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

4 thoughts on “Girl with the (Eve) Pearl Earring

  1. The eyeliner sounds wonderful! It is very pricey indeed but if it performs so well and doesn’t smudge at all then it’s worth it for me.

    And I actually like the title of this post. ;)

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

