Beauty Tools / Mid End

Urban Decay Good Karma Brushes Take Me Way Back

And when I say way back, I mean 1500s way back.  Yeah, that’s a pretty long time ago.

Back in the day, this…priest man from Europe (whose name has long since slipped out of my head) sold indulgences to the people.  He told his customers that by purchasing these indulgences, they would instantly be absolved of their sins.  Well, unfortunately for him, Martin Luther was also alive at the time.

And of course, when Martin Luther heard this, he pretty much flipped out:

So Martin Luther, being the mover & shaker he was, wrote his famous 95 Theses, and nailed them to the door of some church.

Observe:

And why did the Urban Decay Good Karma brushes make me flash back to this tale from my Euro class?

You see, these brushes are cruelty free, vegan, and eco-friendly.  The synthetic brush hairs are fashioned from recycled PET bottles, and the brush handles are crafted from recycled aluminum.  The boxes are even made out of recycled egg cartons.  Basically, the purchase and use of these brushes will result in permanent good karma credit!  And I must say, these brushes do make me feel pretty great.

I’m just glad Martin Luther isn’t around to yell at me for using them :D

I’m sure that many of you are curious about the Shadow Brush, since Urban Decay recently swapped out their 24/7 liners for one of these babies in their insanely popular Naked Palette:

Despite the fact that I never have very high hopes for brushes that come with eyeshadow palettes (I’m more than happy to use them in a pinch, but for everyday use, I usually ignore them), I was very impressed by this one!  The brush hairs are densely packed, and feel supremely sleek and soft against my eyelids.  The brush has a nice weight, and I love how the cool aluminum feels in my hand.  It’s like a conduit for the good karma flowing into my body~ahhhh~  I’m used to using bargain buy ELF brushes, so I know you’re probably wondering if this brush is all that different from the much more affordable ELF options.  In a word, yes.  In more words: First of all, Urban Decay’s eyeshadow brush is much more streamlined (less floofy), so it’s better at picking up and depositing concentrated color straight on the lid.  Second, the shape fits much easier across my eyelid, and also feels softer than the ELF version.  I don’t know that it’s so much better that I would pay $26 for it, but I do think it’s a worthy addition to the Naked Palette.  The upside of eyeshadow brushes is that you can use them to do your entire eye look (drag down the color from the outer corner for your crease/contour shade, pat over the lid for your main color, highlight the browbone, or line your eyes with the tip).

My rating: a solid A for the product, but a B+ when taking the price into consideration.  I recommend buying this with the Naked Palette.

The next brush is the unique Shading Brush:

Right from the start, the brush head caught my attention.  It looks like a baby flat-top brush, except it’s cut at an angle.  This brush is an excellent option for anyone who has trouble getting a uniform-looking crease color.  The difference between this and your regular, run-of-the-mill blending brush is that the Shading Brush fits perfectly in the crease because of its wider, flatter shape.  In addition, the densely packed bristles make it a pro at blending out colors.  My only word of caution about this brush is that it picks up a lot of eyeshadow, so you want to be careful not to overdo it.  I do wish that this brush handle was the same length as the other two I own (if you look at the picture at the bottom of this review, you’ll see it’s about 3/4 the length of the other two brushes).  It still feels substantial, but I feel like a longer brush handle would give me greater control.  There’s no doubt that this is a very cool, innovative brush, but I personally can’t see myself getting enough use out of it to justify the $26 price tag.

My rating: B+ for the product, B- when taking the price into consideration

Last up is the Blending Brush, a staple in every makeup lover’s tool kit:

Again, the bristles are ridiculously soft and there are no stray hairs poking out.  The brush has a nice sproing-y thing going on (meaning it’s bouncy and…supple?), and is hands-down the best one I’ve used before.  The shape is perfect for applying light washes of color in the crease, and I find myself reaching for this brush every time I have a hankering to blend.  Thanks to the Urban Decay Blending Brush, my ELF blending brushes (and that includes their fancy $5 one) are all collecting dust in their mugs now.  I do find the ELF blending brushes a teensy bit prickly, but the UD version is smooth as butter.  As buttery as a makeup brush can be, that is.  Out of all three brushes that I tried, this is the one I would be most likely to spend $26 on.  A good blending brush can go a long way in your makeup adventures, and this one excels at what it does.

My rating: A+, A- when taking the price into consideration

So there you go!  I’m just so full of good karma now.

Threefold good karma complete with dramatic lighting:

Will you be investing in some good karma?  And had you lived in the 1500s, would you have picked up an indulgence or two?

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were provided by PR for consideration and review.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

11 thoughts on “Urban Decay Good Karma Brushes Take Me Way Back

  1. Thanks for the review. I’d love to try the blending brush: I’m looking for one at the moment and this sounds wonderful! I wish it wasn’t so expensive but then it’ll last ages if taken proper care of.

  2. “Good Karma”. What a great name for these. :D I love that they come from giving life back to materials that would otherwise have been discarded. \o/

    (Fuzzy tofu cubes? I like!)

  3. LOL! Tetzel, and it’s funny that you said it rhymed with pretzel because that’s how I remembered it in grade school…”Tetzel Pretzel” :)

    The blending brush just might be calling my name!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

