Beauty Tools / Fragrance / Product Reviews

Tuesday Travels with Travalo (A Review)

Oh, look at Travalo, that travel-sized tyke!  If you haven’t heard the beauty buzz lately, let me fill you in *conspiratorial wink*  Travalo is a sturdy little perfume atomizer that’s specifically built for travel.  The entire thing is made out of tough aluminum (no glass), the size is airline approved for your carry-on luggage, and best of all, the thing is virtually leakproof.

Now, I didn’t get to personally test this out because the second I finished filling it up with Dune by Dior, my mother eagerly wrenched it out of my hands, and I haven’t seen it since.  But judging by the fact that she keeps telling me to get my own, I think it’s safe to say that she loves it.

Here’s the secret to Travalo’s leakproof-ness:

Instead of unscrewing the cap and pouring perfume in, like you would do for a normal mini atomizer, this one works by some sort of suction action.  It confuses me how once the perfume goes up, it doesn’t come out, but let’s just say it’s magical.

The instructions for use are very straightforward.  All you do is pop the cap off of your favorite perfume (so that you get the straw-looking-thing sticking out), stick the Travalo on top, and pump up and down like so:

See my handy arrows? :)  The whole process takes under a minute, and is completely mess-free.  Seriously, there is no way you can make a mess while decanting with this thing.

One thing I will caution you about is that the Travalo doesn’t attach on top of the perfume.  You just hold it there, and then proceed to pump.  I was so confused by this at first, but even when you’re pumping the perfume, the Travalo is just sitting on top.  It never actually attaches to your perfume…so don’t be alarmed if you think it doesn’t fit!  It does.  And again, by magic, the bottom stays completely dry, even after pumping.  It’s beyond me.  It’s bamgozzling!

Once you’re done filling the Travalo with perfume, just put the cap on top, and you’re good to go.  It also has a clear “window” so you can always see how much you have left.  You can get 50 sprays into one Travalo, which is a very good amount for travel.

This mystical decanter comes in a variety of shades: pink, red, gold, silver, and black.  It’s unobtrusive and sturdy, so I wouldn’t even worry about throwing it in my book bag for class (that is, if I still had it).

Keep in mind that these are harder to clean than traditional mini atomizers.  You can probably buy one of those cheap spray bottles from the drugstore, fill them up with water, and then spray it out, but you’re mostly likely going to have some scent linger behind.  For that reason, it’s probably best to use the Travalo for similar perfumes, so that they don’t clash with each other.  It shouldn’t be a huge problem, since only a trace of scent will linger behind, but it’s just something to consider.

The Travalo is a pricey travel sidekick at $17.99, but the product is pretty much one-of-a-kind for people who travel a lot, or even for people who like to carry perfume with them throughout the day.  It’s the only fragrance container that I would feel confident enough to carry in my purse or carry-on, and $17.99 for something that comes with a “No-Quibble” guarantee for 10 years is worth it.

If you like to have perfume on hand at all times, definitely give the Travalo a look!

My rating: A

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The product in this post was provided by PR for review and consideration.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

8 thoughts on “Tuesday Travels with Travalo (A Review)

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

