Beauty News

Urban Bride

Nope, the collection name isn’t based on the royal wedding (we can talk about that later).  This nifty little kit is actually the result of a collaboration between Urban Decay and Universal Pictures to promote Bridesmaids (in theatres May 13).

Let’s take a peek inside :D

~Razor Sharp Ultra-Definition Finishing Powder: diffuses lines for a flawless airbrushed look, and the translucent shade suits all skin tones.  The photographer and the DJ can flash their brightest lights her way because she’ll still look amazing.

~Eyeshadow Primer Potion: ensures her eyeshadow stays vibrant, true and crease-free throughout the ceremony, pictures, dancing and well-after her garter comes off.

~Supercurl Curling Mascara: boosts, separates and conditions lashes, while its supersculpting polymers hold the curl.

~Lip Junkie Lip Gloss in Midnight Cowboy: gives her all the shine she wants without any tacky stickiness. This soft, cushiony-textured gloss endures, and the sheer nude sparkle of Midnight Cowboy can be worn alone or over any shade of lipstick.  See my previous review here.

~All Nighter Long-Lasting Makeup Setting Spray: a weightless mist that sets makeup for 16 hours. It utilizes temperature control technology to prevent makeup from melting off when it’s hot and humid outside or from becoming dehydrated when it’s cold and dry.

~Marshmallow Sparkling Lickable Body Powder: a glistening, edible body powder to highlight her shoulders and décolletage beautifully.

All of the gorgeous box artwork was drawn by the UD in-house artists.  I’m loving the outside foil design, and the product selection looks promising.  The set retails at $42, and will be available on Urban Decay’s website starting May 1st.

Ok, now speaking of the royal wedding…I’m sure you’ve all heard by now that Kate Middleton did her own makeup.  Yes, she did take lessons with a professional makeup artist, but still, that’s a bold move considering all the scrutiny she was under that day!  What do you think of her look?  Here’s a picture if you haven’t seen it yet.  I love how fresh and put-together the makeup looks from a normal viewing distance, but up close it looks a bit heavy to me.  I do think she did her brows and blush very nicely, though.

Will you be doing your own wedding makeup?  Perhaps with this Urban Bride kit?  Or will you put your face in the hands of a makeup artist?

My wedding is far-far-far away in the future, but I’ll probably be doing my own hair and makeup.  We shall see…

~Makeup Morsels

*Press information and stock images provided by Urban Decay

5 thoughts on “Urban Bride

  1. this kit looks really nice :) i did not know kate did her own makeup! i thought she did a great job! When your wedding takes place in the future, I want to see your hair and makeup that you’ve created!! hehehehe <3 I also did my own for my wedding, I really couldn't trust anyone else to do my makeup especially so I figured why not!

    • yup, I thought she went a bit overboard on eyeliner, but otherwise it was very well done. hehe ok xD I remember you posting about that! I think it’s awesome you did your m/u yourself. And I agree, I probably know my face best anyways, and what products would work well for me.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

