Hair / Product Reviews

I Beam at these Gleaming Hair Crystalz

So the other day, as I was rewatching an old episode of my favorite show of all time (Friends), I saw a column of gleaming crystals in Phoebe’s hair.  OMIGOD, I yelled, jumping up and frantically waving my index finger about, it’s HAIR CRYSTALZ!  My outburst, of course, went ignored.  If you live with me, you get used to my frequent weird moments.  I can’t find the clip on YouTube, but it’s the episode where Monica asks for Phoebe’s grandmother’s chocolate chip cookie recipe.

sorry about the departure from my new lighting setup, these images were taken before I switched over

I get really excited whenever I see a beauty product I (possibly) recognize on TV.  It’s kind of like seeing a relative or friend on TV.  But way cooler.

Hair Crystalz are semipermanent hair crystals.  But with a z.  Which bugs me a little bit, but I won’t dwell on it.  Hair Flairs, the company that makes Hair Crystalz, also makes other pretty doodads for your tresses, but the Crystalz caught my eye right away.

I’m using Hair Crystalz in Crystal AB here (clear with iridescent coating a.k.a. pure gorgeousness).  The nice thing about these is that they are genuine Czech crystals, not rhinestones.

Steps for application are super straightforward.  I promise, you cannot mess this up (unlike the more complicated hair tinsel and hair feathers).

1. Cut out a strip of crystals.  Peel the fabric backing off, so that you are left with crystals stuck to a sheet of plastic.

2. Attach the strip of plastic to your hair.  Then take a heat tool (they suggest a straightener, but I used a curling iron, and it was fine) and clamp down on each crystal for 3-5 seconds.  Then, simply peel the plastic away.  The heat activates the glue which bonds the crystal to your hair, so you’re good to go after that!

Hair Crystalz are supposed to stay on through “several washes.”  Mine lasted for 6 days, and this was back when I was washing my hair everyday (more about that in another post).  They sort of shifted around a bit towards the end (forming sort of a  >  shape instead of a straight line), but otherwise stayed on.  If you want to remove these early, just saturate the backs of the crystals with hairspray.  At the end of 6 days, mine loosened to the point where I just slid them off.

I wore these to class for an entire week, and got a variety of responses.  Some of the people I ran into didn’t even notice them (so they can be subtle), but most thought they were amazingly awesome.  And then I got a few people who came up to me and said (in that tone of voice you reserve for telling people their fly is unzipped or they have something stuck in their teeth), “Uh, you have something sparkly in your hair.”

Yes, I know.  I put them there.  How exactly did you think three crystals ended up in my bangs?

I have to say, I really love these.  I wish they would last a little bit longer, but other than that, I’m very happy with how they look and perform.  These retail at $10 for a pack of 36 crystals, plus you get free shipping if you buy $20 worth of crystals (US and Canada only, sorry).  I suppose it is a little bit pricey for something you will only use once, but since they use quality materials, I can see why they charge extra.

Do you think you’re likely to give Hair Crystalz a try?

My rating: A, A- when taking the price into consideration

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The product in this post was provided by PR for consideration and review.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

9 thoughts on “I Beam at these Gleaming Hair Crystalz

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

