High End / Lips / My Favorite Things

So This is Love: An Ellis Red Review

So this is the miracle that I’ve been dreaming of, 

So this is…Ellis Red.

I know that red lipstick isn’t  the easiest thing to pull off.  It’s high-maintenance.  It’s bold.  It can overpower your face.  But it can also look really good, if done right.

Normally, when people ask me what the easiest way to wear red lipstick is, I recommend that they start by wearing one with berry tones.  But you know what?  I’ve changed my mind.  If you want a wearable red that is a true red, then grab yourself a tube of Ellis Red, and you’ll be set for life.

Ellis Red is the signature color of Ellis Faas, so it comes in all three formulas (Creamy Lips, Milky Lips, and Glazed Lips).  It’s supposed to be a true blood-red that will look good on all skintones, and yes, it does look a lot like blood coming out of the tube.  Just don’t let that faze you, because once you wear it for the first time, you’ll probably wonder why you never realized blood could look so dang good.

I mean…blood-colored lipstick.  Heh.

Here it is in the Creamy Lips formulation: 

Here is as close to a full-face shot as I will get (which is a good thing because while my lips look good from this angle, zoom out a bit and I look like a gaping fish):

I’ve talked about the Creamy Lips formula and packaging already here, so read that if you want the scoop.  In a few words, it’s extremely comfortable and long-wearing.  And the packaging is just the coolest thing ever, plus it’s super convenient to lug around and use.

Here is Ellis Red Milky Lips:

As you can probably tell, the color is slightly different in this formulation.  It’s brighter, and wears more like a gloss/stain than a liquid lipstick (although I have to say, you’ll be hard-pressed to find a gloss or a stain with this type of formula and pigmentation).

Milky Lips has a brush applicator instead of a showerhead (basically a wide doe-foot applicator cut at a shallow angle).  I’ve heard some people complain about the showerhead, but I actually prefer it over a brush, since I find that it gives me much more control, and allows me to apply product much quicker.  Still, I get more even coverage with the brush, so I’m not going to complain.  Both are the means to a glorious end, so as long as I get there, I’m as happy as a clam with a saucy red pout, if you know what I mean.

What I love about Ellis Red is that it’s insanely flattering, which I hope you can tell from my swatch pictures.  I’ve seen people with warm undertones pull it off just as well as those with cool undertones.  It’s just one of those colors that everyone can wear, which honestly, I never thought I’d say about a red lipstick.  But it works.  It’s bold, but somehow I can pull it off without looking washed out or ridiculous.  Of course, you can easily sheer it out to a stain if you’d like, but I prefer to wear it full-out (that’s one coat in the swatches above, by the way).

Both Creamy Lips and Milky Lips retail at $35 for a tube.  That’s a very high price for a lip product, but as I’ve said before, these products are worth every penny.  If you only buy one red lipstick your entire life, make it this one because I’m convinced you’ll never find anything better.

My rating: A+

Are you a red-lipstick lover, or do you tend to shy away from the color?  Do you think you’ll give this one a try?

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were provided by PR for consideration and review.  All opinions are my own.  For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

16 thoughts on “So This is Love: An Ellis Red Review

  1. This color is GORGEOUS! I’m the type that shies away from red because yes, I feel like it over powers my face. (That’s the first time I’ve ever typed shies and it looks really weird.) However, I always set out on the quest to buy red lipstick… but when I get to the counter I end up choosing something else. The last lipstick I bought was actually a semi-bright orange so I guess that’s a step forward! This lipstick looks REALLY good. I want to try it.. but I don’t know if I can spend that much on a red when I’m not even sure I can wear red!

    • I’m really loving orange lip colors for summer actually, which one did you buy? I think this is an ‘investment red’ (LOL totally just made that up right now) that you’d buy if you’ve made up your mind that you want a red lipstick. I’ve tried other reds before, but never used to wear them out b/c they looked too strong on me.

      If you’re not sure whether or not you can wear true red, I suppose you could always start with a pigmented red gloss from the drugstore to get an idea. Obviously, that will be more wearable, but I think red glosses are relatively easy to find for affordable prices.

  2. Woah!! ooooooooooh lala! You have a purfect pucker and it looks ripe and decadent in RED!

    Okay enough perving! I have yet to try anything from this brand but you have got my attention with this red. I ♥ red lippy!

    • hahahah why thank you! xD You should definitely look into this brand, I think you might really like it from what I’ve seen on your blog. Do you have any favorite red lipsticks?

  3. You can pull off red lips so well. I don’t think I’m confident enough to wear such bold shades on my lips, but these look so pretty and not that hard to wear. :)

    • Thanks Gio! You should try wearing red lipstick! I’ve seen you pull off very bright pinks before, and they look great on your lips. I think the trick is just finding a red that works well with your skintone.

    • Thanks Trisha =) I was pleasantly surprised! Reds that are too warm or too cool always tend to stick out (and not in a good way) on my features, but this one was perfect. It’s like the ‘just right’ bowl of porridge in Goldilocks LOL.

  4. I could only think of one word when I saw your lips: LUSCIOUS. ;) I got lazy and stopped looking for a red lippie btw. Gasp, I know.

    (Well you’re preaching to the choir here so it definitely couldn’t hurt to wear them while driving! Or did you mean like out and about (outside of the car)? I guess that would be up to you ;)

    • Aw, my lips thank you xD Oh no, don’t give up now! LOL
      Nope, I meant while driving. I wore them out driving today! But I think I should probably just go ahead and invest in something hardcore like you b/c the sleeve doesn’t really cover all of my hand.

  5. @Ana, FYI the color is a chameleon. I have very fair and cool pink-porcelain skin, and both Ellis Reds (L101 and L201) are fantastic on me.

    @makeupmorsels, I am so sorry I didn’t see your question. I subscribed to the topic, but I must have not subscribed to replies. My two other favorite reds are Chantecaille Lip Chis in Dahlia, and then it’s a toss up between Laura Mercier’s Bing Cherry and Sweet Cherry.

    I have tried Ellis Faas Lights in E303, a bronzed gold (though they sent me samples of others) and they are incredibly pigmented and shimmery and dry much faster than Ellis’s other Creamy or Milky Eyes products. Lights are truly gorgeous, but I found them to be a bit too over the top for my skin, but that’s OK — I love The EF Creamy Eyes and wear several of them regularly.

    • Yup, agreed. I’m neutral-toned, but I’ve seen girls with both warm and cool undertones rock the color.

      np! Good to know, I’ll have to check those out sometime. I recently started wearing Lights sheered out, you should try it! Just get the teeniest dab of color on a blending brush/eyeshadow brush, and pat gently over the lid. Tones the color down a bunch, but still gorgeous obviously.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

