My Favorite Things / Product Reviews / Skincare

If At First You Don’t Succeed, or How I Found Another Use for My Eye Cream

Since I couldn’t be in Taiwan this summer, I’ve been recreating my Taipei shopping experiences by sitting on the floor, surrounded by past purchases.

That sounds even more pathetic when it’s not inside my head….

Anyways, one of the best items I ever bought was this Skin Food Potiron Au Lait eye cream:

.

I didn’t realize it at first.  In fact, the first few times I tried it out, it was so rich that it caused minor milia under my eyes.  I was hesitant return it, though, partly because most return policies in Taipei are rather discouraging, and partly because it smelled…So.  Darn.  Good.  (Plus the packaging is adorable)

Part pumpkin pie, part warm milk and honey, this is quite possibly the yummiest skincare product I’ve ever held in my life.  I’ve had it for a year now, and I still smell it twice a day, once in the morning and once at night.  Call me weird, but I find it quite therapeutic.  I also like to pet my makeup brushes, but that’s another story.

Anyways, aside from sniffing it on a daily basis, I couldn’t really find another use for it until winter hit.  That’s when I started experiencing serious dry patches on my cheeks, and nothing would get rid of them.  I tried multiple face creams, Vaseline, Aquaphor, even A&D.  The dry patches just scoffed at me.  It was disheartening, to tell you the truth.

Finally, I thought I would give this eye cream a try.  I remembered that it was deliciously buttery-rich, so I figured it might work.

A single dab of the cream glided right across my cheeks, instantly soothing my skin.  Over the next three weeks, I fed the patches with a diet of Potiron au Lait under A&D at night, and Diane Lai Mositurizer in the morning, which I’ll talk about in another post.  My eczema was gone by the end of the month, and I was a happy camper.

Eye creams are usually very pricey, but I believe I bought this one for around $12, and it’s worth every penny.  A tiny bit goes a long way, and this is probably the most effective winter moisturizer I have in my arsenal.  It does tend to ball up if you apply makeup over the top, which is why I like to use it at night, and wake up to wonderfully refreshed skin.

Have you ever repurposed a beauty product?

My rating: A+

~Makeup Morsels

6 thoughts on “If At First You Don’t Succeed, or How I Found Another Use for My Eye Cream

  1. What a shame it caused milia but I’m glad you found an use for it and it helped with your dry patches. The packaging is very pretty too.

  2. 哈哈哈哈哈哈
    你的第一段實在是太好笑了!!!!!!

    台灣太潮濕了,我在懷疑適不適合在潮濕的台灣用~
    但我想問你你上次說的skinfood遮瑕
    因為我最近在查要去韓國買些什麼~
    聽說韓國的skinfood只要台灣的半價~!

    對了,我去韓國的時候你想要收到明信片嗎?
    我可以在那邊寄一些美妝品給你
    如果運費不會太貴了話XDDDD

    我明天開始要去鄉下辦營隊一個禮拜!
    希望我不會變太黑@@

    • 哈哈哈,謝謝 xD

      我也聽說韓國的 skin food 超便宜
      那個遮瑕真的很好用,如果你有找到,應該買一瓶試試看

      哈哈,沒關係,但是謝謝你的好意 :)

      別忘記搽防曬油!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

