Bath & Body / My Favorite Things / Product Reviews / Skincare

An Unexpected HG: Savannah Body Cream from Rain Africa

Out of all my skincare products, the only one I’m not particularly picky about is body lotion.  As long as it’s not too strongly scented, I’ll use it, and I’ve never actually splurged on body lotion or body cream before.  I mean, there’s really no need, since I like the ones from the drugstore.

Actually, there was never a need up until the point when I got my hands on this pot of Savannah Body Cream from Rain Africa.  And then I had to re-evaluate my former ideas about body lotion.

The cream comes packaged in a beautiful glass jar, complete with a little ceramic spoon for scooping, in case you don’t want to use your fingers.  The glass has a very nice weight to it, and the screw-on lid reminds me of the top of a jam jar.  The lotion itself has a perfect texture, not too thick, but not too thin.  It imparts a refreshing, cool sensation on the skin, and rubs in easily.  But to get to the real reason why I love this…

The thing is, this stuff just smells so good.  The level of olfactory wonderful-ness is on par with my Skin Food Potiron au Lait Eye Cream, only of course it’s a completely different scent.

Think ocean.  Think nature and sunlight on leaves.  Think a breath of fresh mountain air.  Think a spacious white room with lots of natural light, huge windows, and sheer, billowy curtains, straight out of the glossy pages of Architectural Digest.

Savannah Body Cream sitting on the August 2011 issue of Architectural Digest.  

Ceramic spoonful of Savannah Body Cream, backdrop out of August 2011 AD (photo by Jean-Pierre Gabriel)

Ceramic spoonful of Savannah Body Cream sitting pretty.  Cover image of August 2011 AD (photo by William Abranowicz)

If those all sound like horrible descriptions to you, it’s because I really can’t pin the scent down.  And no wonder, because the Savannah scent is composed of over 100 ingredients!  Scent description taken from the Rain Africa website:

a blend of over 100 perfumed ingredients from citrusy notes, to woods & grasses create a complex and fascinating scent of the wild, reminiscent of pure, rain washed air mingled with veld grass and dust

It’s impossible to do this scent justice in words.  You’ll have to experience it for yourself…it’s the most amazing thing I’ve ever smelled in my life.  And I love that the body cream isn’t too heavily scented, so that the fragrance draws close to the skin after a few minutes.  And yes, there is an entire Savannah range, so if you love the smell as much as I do, you could invest in the perfume, or the body lotion, or anything else that catches your eye.

I think it goes without saying that this is on the high end, pricewise, especially since Rain Africa promotes handmade products.  That’s just not going to be cheap.  Luckily, I find the price reasonable for a high-end Bath&Body brand.  Usually when I think attainable-splurge (a nice treat, but not one that’s going to completely empty your wallet) B&B, I think Philosophy, and they price their lotions at $24.  Savannah Body Cream also retails at $24 for 7.6 fl oz, so while there’s no doubt that it’s expensive, I do feel that it’s worth every penny.

Thumbs up for

The amazing scent and the beautiful, luxe packaging.  Plus the refreshing feel and nice consistency of the cream.  Oh!  And the company specializes in handmade products…I could go on for awhile.

Thumbs down for

The price, although it is within reason for high-end body products

Final decision

A very worthwhile splurge!

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The product in this post was submitted for review, either by a PR firm or directly from the manufacturer.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

10 thoughts on “An Unexpected HG: Savannah Body Cream from Rain Africa

  1. That’s an expensive body lotion! But it sounds so tempting…. the scent seems wonderful and the little spoon is such a nice touch!

  2. Over a 100 ingredients? That’s too much imo.. Price wise, I find it okay since it comes in a huge jar. Not so keen that it’s glass, there’re lots of klutzy people around but plastic might be a little cheap for high end lovers hahaha

    • I believe they mean that the scent itself has 100 different notes, not that the body lotion has 100 ingredients (which I would agree is too much, and I’d be hesitant to use it). hehe klutzy person right here! But I still love my glass packaging, pricey products should have some weight to them IMO.

  3. Actually, it’s a body cream, not a lotion. According to the website, the Savannah line has a lotion ($20), body cream ($24), and body butter ($20). The butter is the thickest, the lotion is the thinnest. The body cream is perfectly in-between, so that makes it feel wonderful. The 100-ingredients thing just means that its scent is made up of over 100 essential oils. The cream itself doesn’t have too many components. From what I can see, it has no parabens and has lots of shea butter, so yay! I will have to give it a shot – it just sounds so yummy!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

