EOTD (Eye of the Day) / Lip Looks

My Everyday Summer Makeup Look

I like a clean look for summer, and most days I don’t even wear makeup.  When I do, I like to keep it to a minimum (actually, let me rephrase.  I like to keep it looking like the minimum).  That means no eyeshadow, no black liner.

Except on days when I’m parading around the house with mermaid makeup on one eye…but that doesn’t really count.

BAM

Face:

I only wear foundation on special occasions, so I skip straight to the translucent powder, swiping some Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in 005 Silky Beige down my t-zone for oil control.

Speaking of which…how have I not finished this up yet?!  I was so excited when I hit pan, but over a year later, and I still haven’t used up all the product.

July 16, 2010 ==> October 16, 2010 ==> July 19, 2011, and still not gone arghh.

Next, I sparingly blend some matte bronzer on my cheeks, temples, forehead, and nose.  I’m pale, so I like to fake a glow for summer.  Otherwise, it looks like I’ve been hiding in a cave for the past ten years.  I’ve been using Jane Oil-Free Bronzing Powder in 07 Sunkissed Bronze lately, mostly because it’s matte and inexpensive.  Remember to apply with a very light hand!

Lips:

I switch up my lipstick color a lot, but lately I’ve been wearing fall/winter shades sheered out over lipbalm.  I’m particularly loving my Covergirl Lip Perfection Lipstick in 230 Captivate, a warm, brick-red.  I layer it over Smith’s Rosebud Salve*, which has a slippery formula that helps tone down Captivate.

Eyes:

I use Lisa Eldridge’s liner technique for the eyes.  The basic idea is that you want definition, not a noticeable line.  I sort of gently ‘push’ (or as Lisa puts it, massage) the pencil into my upper lashline, and then dot it halfway along my lower lashes.  Normally, I don’t like brown liner, but I’m making an exception for the beautiful Urban Decay 24/4 Liner in Underground*.

Next, I curl my lashes with my trusty Koji No.73 lash curler, and then apply some d.j.v. Beautenizer Volume Lash mascara*.  If anyone’s tried this mascara, and knows of a good dupe, please let me know.  It’s the best mascara I’ve ever used, and I’ve used quite a few, from drugstore to high-end.  Unfortunately, it also costs $24 per tube, and I have to throw it out after 3-4 months.  If I can’t find a suitable replacement, I might have to repurchase this.  It’s just too good.

Last step is to fill in my brows.  I forgot to include my Milani Easybrow in Natural Taupe in the product shot, but it should be there!  Just do the old ‘close your eyes and imagine’ trick.  Your brows frame your features, and they can make quite a difference to how polished you look overall.

That’s it!  Nothing groundbreaking, but I find that this routine works well for me.

Swatches on NC15 skin:

left: Jane Bronzer swatched heavily, right: Jane Bronzer swatched so sparingly that you probably can’t really see it.  That’s how I wear it on my face, just enough to warm up my skin.

Covergirl Lip Perfection Lipstick in Captivate.

Urban Decay 24/7 Liner in Underground.  Notice the lightning-bolt swatch, I must have been thinking of Harry Potter…

Another swatch of Underground (3rd from the left) to show the gorgeous texture.  Sorry about the yellow lighting, this was taken after the sun went down.

What’s your summer makeup routine?

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: Products marked with an asterisk * are press samples.  I won Captivate in a giveaway, everything else was purchased by me.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

2 thoughts on “My Everyday Summer Makeup Look

  1. I love Underground, too – it’s not too red, which is nice.

    Omg, saw HP last night! It was good, but not stay-up-til-3am good. And now it’s over. :(

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

