Adventures in the Kitchen / Tasty TGIF Tidbits

Tasty TGIF Tidbits 8/12/11: Marshmallow Bars, My Way

*Before I forget, I’m going to do a giveaway on Monday, so make sure you check back here!  I won’t give too much away, but I will say that I’m going to open this one up internationally.

As promised, it’s marshmallow cake bar time!

I found this recipe via the super genius Picky Palate blog (official way to make these yummy morsels here), and knew right away that I had to try it.

As you can probably, her cake bars look a lot different from mine.  For one, hers are squares.  Mine were supposed to be squares, but they ended up more like polygon…blobs.  When I say “marshmallow bars, my way,” it may sound like I’m trying to be a cool kid.  But the reality of the situation is that I haven’t baked since I was 5.  So “my way” could also be called the “bumbling around the kitchen not really sure what I’m doing way.”

I did end up making a few changes to the recipe as I bumbled along…

Yummy-ness bubbling merrily in the oven

First off, I didn’t have any of that spray oil you grease the pan with.  So I used a spoon to spread olive oil all over the foil sheet, which worked out just fine.

I also didn’t have any butter at home.  Or sugar.  Or anything that you would typically bake with, except for eggs.  Like I said, I haven’t baked since I was 5, so I kind of forgot that you need to add butter to cake mix.

I subbed in olive oil for butter (same amount), and it ended up tasting perfectly normal!  My batter ended up a lot more fluid than the original, and I had to pop it in the oven  for an extra 10 minutes because the cake batter wasn’t all the way baked after 30 minutes.  I also didn’t add condensed milk because the batter was already on the wet side.

I only scattered a thin layer of marshmallows+white chocolate over the graham crackers (probably 1/3 of each bag) because I didn’t want it to end up being to sweet.  I topped it off with some almonds, walnuts, and pecans for added crunch, and then slid the whole thing neatly it into the oven:

A landscape of cake.  This beats actual landscape any day

Nomming on the cake

I had a lot of white chocolate chips and marshmallows left over, so I used another third of those+3 tablespoons of olive oil to make cereal bars.  I mixed the melted concoction with some Honey Bunches of Oats, pressed it in a pan, and let it set.  I think I used too much cereal, so the cereal bars ended up more like cereal shards.

I ate them for breakfast with greek yogurt, so it was all good xD

That’s it, and let me know if you try making these.  Enjoy your weekend!

~Makeup Morsels

8 thoughts on “Tasty TGIF Tidbits 8/12/11: Marshmallow Bars, My Way

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

