High End / Randomly Beauty Related / Skincare

CLOSED – Sin-care Skincare Review & Giveaway

*THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED*

Most skincare lines carry products for general concerns, such as oily skin or an aging complexion.  Sin-care Skincare, on the other hand, takes this process one step further.  The Australian brand carries 7 “Booster Serums” to counteract 7 common skincare sins.  Do you live in a smoggy city?  Try their Urban Renewal serum.  Eat too many sweets?  Snag a bottle of their Sugar Hit serum.

I love the concept of a skincare brand that caters to very specific problems, but do the products deliver?

I’ve been trying out their Relaxation Sensation booster serum for the past month, which is designed to erase that pinched, dull look your skin takes on in times of stress.  While summer break probably isn’t the best time for me to be testing out something like this, my skin does look tired from time to time since I have trouble sleeping in the warmer months.

Relaxation Sensation comes in a sleek purple tube (which look awesome and scientific to me, for whatever reason.  I think I saw something like this at the Science Center in my youth…)

The side of the box reads, “What I want is a week to wind down at a tropical day spa with massages, body scrubs and facials – swimming with dolphins and no phones.”

Well yeah, who doesn’t want that?

While this serum didn’t magically transport me to a dolphin-filled resort, I definitely noticed a brightening effect on days where my skin was looking run-down.  I was half-expecting this to smell of lavender, mostly because of the word ‘relaxing’ and the purple packaging, but to my delight, the serum had a fresh, uplifting lychee scent.  I was impressed at how moisturizing this was, given its light texture.  While those with dry skin *raises own hand and waves it around* will still need to top this off with moisturizer, it does deliver a nice hit of hydration on its own.

While I did see a short-term (we’re talking about 24 hours here) improvement in my overall skintone with this moisturizer, I do have to say that it’s pretty pricey.  At $72.25 per bottle, this is hardly affordable.  I do think it’s a very good quality serum, but I bet the price tag will elicit some cringes.

So how about I give away a bottle for free? :D

Which Sin-Care booster serum will it be?

*drumroll*

One lucky ducky will win a brand new bottle of Sun Goddess serum (retail value $72.25).  If you weren’t always vigilant about applying your spf, and want to undo some of that sun damage, this is the serum for you.  Sun Goddess targets loosening of the dermal/epidermal junction DEJ and boosts collagen protection. It also contains Phytosphingosine, which is one of the most expensive skin care cosmeceuticals available ($25,000 per kilo), and has been successfully tested against Retin A.

I will be taking care of the shipping, and as a ‘thank you’ to my lovely readers, both inside and outside of the US, I’m going to open this one up internationally.  All I ask is that you follow the rules below.

To enter:

Simply leave a comment below telling me what your skincare sin is.  It doesn’t have to be a Sin-Care sin, but I’m curious to know what kind of skin-sins you have committed.

For example, I’m guilty of consuming large amounts of sugar, particularly when I’m confronted with Taiwanese shaved snow (in my defense, how can anyone possibly resist that stuff?).  And according to Sin-Care, excess sugar consumption can cause premature aging, woops!

For an extra entry:

Follow me on Twitter, and tweet the following:

It’s giveaway time over @MakeupMorsels!  If you’re in the mood to win one pricey serum, visit http://wp.me/pJqY9-1tN for details.

Then leave a separate comment on this post stating your twitter username and linking back to your tweet.

Rules:

You must be 18 or older to enter.  If you are under 18, please have a parent or legal guardian enter for you.

The giveaway will end on September 6th at 11:59 pm Pacific Time.  Entries submitted after the deadline will be disqualified.  Once the giveaway is closed, I will choose the winner using a random number generator.  Make sure that I can reach you at the email you enter in the comment form.  If the winner does not contact me with his/her shipping information within 48 hours, I will choose another one.

Good luck!

And in case anyone wants to know the ingredients, here they are (click to enlarge):

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were submitted for review, either by a PR firm or directly from the manufacturer.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

30 thoughts on “CLOSED – Sin-care Skincare Review & Giveaway

  1. I’ve seen this brand on a blog, and I’ve been very intrigued ever since – the brand concept is very interesting. And like you, I’m cringing at the prices! I like my skincare to be more affordable since I use them up so quickly.

    Thanks for the giveaway, you are super generous! My skincare sins would be not drinking enough water, sleeping late, and scoffing down too many bags of crisps =.=

  2. Dear Ms. Morsel,
    My skin sin is that sometimes I don’t wash my face before I go to sleep at night. Also, although I wear sunscreen when I know I will be out running around in the sun, sometimes I forget to wear SPF moisturizer under my foundation…And since I’m old, that’s a REAL sin.

  3. Skin care sins: I don’t wear sunscreen as often as I should and I don’t drink as much water as my skin would like :O

  4. My skincare sins are many- not always washing my makeup off at night (so, naturally, as a result, skipping the moisturizer on those nights!), too much sugar, not getting enough sleep, and one really bad habit that I cannot seem to break myself of, sleeping on my face!

  5. What an interesting concept- targeting skin care “sins”. That’s really neat. Obviously other brands have targeted sun damage and stress, but I’m really intrigued by the Urban environment and smoker-centric versions. That I’ve never seen.
    My sins are not getting enough sleep (hello insomnia) and eating way to much chocolate and carbs.

    • These might not seem like “skin care sins” but they are indirectly harmful.
      Thank you for this giveaway! My hope is that reading this post and everyone elses’ sins will motivate me to stop being stupid with my skin.

      • oops. I am sorry for leaving another comment! I am writing these as “replies” to my first comment so they don’t count as extra entries. I want to be fair and play by the rules! I also re-tweeted about the giveaway today because I had forgotten I had previously sent out a tweet. And, as you can tell, this lil’ dingbat didn’t scroll down and see that she had tweeted when she first entered. Please excuse my dingbattiness. :P

  6. I have a lot of skincare sins! I never drink enough water or reapply sunscreen… I also don’t get enough sleep and eat lots of sugary foods… >_<

  7. My annoying sensitive skin keeps me from entering this lovely giveaway. Good luck to everyone! :D But I will share that my skin-sin is not sleeping at a reasonable hour. T_T

    (Atonement was so sad but I also developed a huge crush on James McAvoy b/c of it…hehe ;)

  8. I touch my face a lot – especially around my mouth and nose. No matter how much I tell myself not to, I still do it! This causes me to get pimples in those areas sometimes. :(

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

