Bargain Buys / Beauty Tools / Mid End / My Favorite Things

Sip Your Way to Whiter Teeth with Glass Dharma

To everyone who’s entered my giveaway so far, it’s been very interesting to hear all of your skincare sins!  While my own list of skin-sins isn’t too bad, I must admit to committing heinous crimes against my pearly whites.

Yes, I’m guilty of drinking lots of black coffee, which stains my teeth pretty badly *hangs head in shame*

Me sipping air with my reborn, blindingly brilliant teeth.  Glass Dharma Simple Elegance straw, Smoothie size (12mm x 9″ outside, 7.6 mm inside diameter), $8.50

I already knew that sipping through a straw prevents staining, but I drink coffee every morning.  And I didn’t want to throw a plastic straw in the trash every single morning, plus I wasn’t sure if it would be safe to put a plastic straw into a piping hot drink (I actually have no idea, so if anyone would care to enlighten me, that would be lovely).

Enter glass straws!  Glass Dharma’s offerings are both dishwasher and microwave safe.  Their straws are hand-made in the USA with borosilicate tubing, which is the strongest glass commercially available.

Each straw comes packaged in its own little box:

Glass Straws are an excellent choice to promote reusable vs. “disposable”. In a perfect world, single use plastics will cease to exist. A straw is one small step that creates a spiraling thought process toward other re-usables.

See that “Lifetime Guarantee” sticker?  That’s one of my favorite things about this company.  Glass Dharma has an excellent return policy, and they also put a lifetime guarantee against breakage on their straws.  If your straw happens to break under natural use, just follow these instructions to replace it.

Aside from the Simple Elegance straw in the first picture, Glass Dharma also carries a bendy version, and a design that features two colorful dots.  All straws come in a variety of lengths and diameters.

My favorite straw has to be the Beautiful Bends design, which “reaches” for your lips.  Why reach for the straw when the straw can reach for you?  Yup, I really am that lazy.

Glass Dharma Beautiful Bends straw, Ice Tea size (9.5 mm x 9″ outside, 5.5 mm inside diameter), $8.50

Glass Dharma Decorative Dots straw in Amber, Ice Tea size (9.5 mm x 9″ outside, 5.5 mm inside diameter), $9.00 

The company also carries cleaning brushes, which you can purchase separately.  Cleaning brushes come in two sizes, and I’d recommend that you use these even if you stick them in a dishwasher (according to my dad, if you don’t manually clean out a pipe, it will accumulate residue over time, so I’d assume the same thing goes for these straws).

Glass Dharma 1/8″ x 6 cleaning brush (for 7 mm straws), 3/8″ x 6 (for all other straws), $5.00

While the larger brush fit its respective straws perfectly, I did have one issue with the smaller brush.  It fit the bottom of the smallest straw, but wouldn’t go in the top.  I tried to force it in, and a piece of the straw ended up chipping off:

Glass Dharma Decorative Dots straw in Green, Sipper size (7mm x 6.25″ outside, 2.5 mm inside diameter), $8.00 

Luckily, the break was very clean, and there were no sharp edges or shattered glass particles.  Also, I was able to take advantage of Glass Dharma’s lifetime guarantee, and replace it.  My guess is that since these straws are hand-made, sizing might vary a little bit.  If your brush doesn’t fit on one side, learn from my mistake, and don’t force it in.

You can buy Glass Dharma products online, or in store at these locations.

Thumbs up for

An innovative, quality product that’s eco-friendly to boot.  I’m also loving the lifetime guarantee, the range of designs, and the reasonable prices.  Plus, you can stick these in the dishwasher or microwave!

Thumbs down for

Nothing.

Final decision

Overall, I was extremely impressed with these straws.  They’re good quality, have already survived multiple trips to my dishwasher, and are perfectly priced (especially when you take the lifetime guarantee and the fact that they are handmade in the US into account).  If you’re a coffee drinker who yearns for whiter teeth, or if you’re attracted to fancy-shmancy straws, check these out!

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were submitted for review, either by a PR firm or directly from the manufacturer.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

9 thoughts on “Sip Your Way to Whiter Teeth with Glass Dharma

  1. I’m that lazy, too. And no, I don’t think putting a straw in your hot drink is a good idea, though I’ve seen people coming out of Starbucks that way all the time. C’mon, it’s plastic, people! And…I’m guilty, too. I actually need to look into whitening before my wedding :P Black coffee, red wine…everything fun stains :P

    • I see people doing that all the time too! Which is why I thought maybe it was ok…but probably not LOL

      I know Michelle from Beauty Editor really loved those new Crest whitestrips that just came out (they’re the 2 hour ones I think). When’s the big day? :)

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

