Drugstore / Lips

Revlon Fire & Ice Is One Rad Red

I told you this was one red lipstick.  It’s also obnoxiously, unabashedly in-your-face.

On my arm, it swatches cool, with slight blue undertones.  On my lips, however, it almost pulls warm.  I think the best description for Fire & Ice (at least one me) is a bright, true tomato-red.

The formula is very thin, and glides smoothly and weightlessly across my lips.  I was surprised to see dry bits form on my lips as the day wore on, especially since it didn’t feel drying at all.

One coat lip swatch.  It’s a little bit frightening to me, but in the best way possible:

Outdoor lighting to better show the brightness of the red:

I’ve seen several reviews that call this red too red and unwearable, and I can see where they’re coming from.  There’s a difference between a classic, confident red; and then this…fire-engine red that screams “I’m red!  I’m red!  Wheeee!”

Do I think this is unwearable and overly loud?  Oh, absolutely.  But I can’t seem to get enough of it.

(Sorry if this picture gives you nightmares.  I was trying to convey intense emotion through the googly eyes).

If you’re looking for a wearable red, let me turn you around, and steer you in the Ellis Red direction.  Fire & Ice is a lot of things, but wearable is not one of them.  Honestly, I don’t see myself wearing this lipstick too much in public, but I love how fun and bright it looks.

As I said before, the packaging immediately caught my eye as I was on one of my routine CVS strolls.  I like Revlon’s usual, minimalist lip packaging, but every now and then, it doesn’t hurt to see something like this:

Just look at that crimped, silver tube with the gold band round the middle!  Extra props for the “R” adorning the top, and the squiggly “Revlon” label.

Thumbs up for

A pigmented, no-holds-barred red in gorgeous vintage packaging.  The price isn’t bad either.

Thumbs down for

Not-so-wearable-ness.  Although if you love lipstick and unique lip colors as much as I do, you’ll probably love this one too.

Final decision

Overall, I think this is more of a novelty red than anything else, and it really depends on what you feel comfortable wearing.  I got this on sale, which made it more than worth it for me, but I believe the normal retail price is around $9.

Revlon Fire & Ice lipstick earns a ladle-full of love from this crazy lipstick lady, but what do the rest of you think?  Would you wear this, or is it too bold?

~Makeup Morsels

16 thoughts on “Revlon Fire & Ice Is One Rad Red

  1. Does it smell funny? :P

    And ooh, I would wear it. I think I would, anyway. I’ve been accumulating red and other bold lipsticks lately. You should do a post on alllll of your reds. I would be very excited XD

    • LOL I knew you were going to ask. I literally could not smell anything, but I cannot speak for your super sensitive nose xP

      I’ve noticed! I’m reading your MAC post right now. Actually, I don’t think I own that many reds *runs to count* hahahh nvm, I have 10-12, depending on how far you can stretch the definition of red. I will think about it :)

    • Haha, it is very bright! I’m glad I bought it though, especially w/ the LE packaging and the history behind the color (which I didn’t really go into in this post, but I think you’d probably find interesting if you Google it).

  2. OMG my new resolution this year is to wear lipstick to school some days. I know my life it really exciting. Too bad David isn’t here to ask if my lips are bleeding or something. This packaging looks really fine! Did you eat with the lipstick on? I’m finding myself tending towards wayy dryer formulas than i used to because now I actually wear my lipsticks out in the day (GASP) where I have to eat and face the trials of every day life. I’M GROWING UP.

    • YAY! I usually wear lipstick to school, just not bright colors like this. The one time I wore an opaque berry lipstick, a lovely someone just had to point at my face and ask me about it. Yeah, I think I had some snacks with this on. Yes you are!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

