Hauls / High End / Lips

My Sephora Haul: Dior Addict Lipstick Review + Swatches

What comes to mind when you hear the word ‘transformation?’  A hungry caterpillar turning into a beautiful butterfly?  A college essay concerning a significant experience that transformed your worldview?

I don’t know what you think of, but I think $50 Sephora gift card (a big thank you to my summer employers who obviously know me well) transformed into 2 Dior Addict lipsticks.  Oh, that’s real deep, I know.

I forgot to ‘test the sound’ the day I bought these (you know, the thing where you close the lipstick to see whether or not it makes a satisfying click), so I actually got up in the middle of the night, walked in the dark to my vanity, picked one up, and clicked it next to my ear.

I am a strange cookie.

Anyways, I decided that Dior Addicts don’t make the best click I’ve heard, but they’re good enough for me.

The duochrome cases, which previously looked like this (top), have been redesigned.  Personally, I prefer the old tubes, but the new ones are pretty as well.

I decided to pick up two shades, which meant that I would pay $10.90 out of pocket (including tax).

Before walking into Sephora, I already knew that I wanted 578 Diorkiss, the bright, fresh pink that Kate Moss wears in the ad, so into my basket it went.

Of course, I can’t rock this quite as hard as Kate Moss does, but I do my best.

The hard part was picking a second shade.

After watching me swatch about 30 lipsticks in store, the SA, who was the perfect combination of helpful and not too pushy, left me alone because I was having so much fun playing with all the colors.

I settled on 214 Tulle, which Sephora describes as a ‘light beige.’  What I love about this color is that it’s a light nude, not a dark one, yet it looks natural on my pigmented lips.  It’s pale enough to cancel out my natural lip color, yet not so peachy or milky that it washes me out.  It also contains just enough pink to blend right into my lips, without being so pink that it stops being nude.

As you can probably tell from my lip swatches, both of these have a very glossy-creamy finish.  What I mean by that is that they add some smooth shine to the lips, but aren’t so sheer that the color doesn’t show up on the lips.

If you’re a fan of the whole high-end, sheer-but-not-too-sheer lipstick, these are worth a look.  They’re also on the cheaper side for high-end lipsticks (I use the term ‘cheaper’ very loosely here), which is why I opted to pick up two of these instead of one YSL Rouge Volupte like I was originally planning to do.

Thumbs up for

Shiny duochrome packaging, large shade range, flattering colors, decent click.

Thumbs down for

The price and dupe-ability.

*I should also mention that these are essentially unscented.  Sometimes, I think I can detect a very mild scent, but it’s barely noticeable.  This could be a pro or a con depending on whether or not you like your lip products scented.

Final decision

While these Dior Addict lipsticks are a nice addition to my stash, I doubt I would have purchased them if not for the giftcard.  There are some luxury lipsticks that I would splurge on if I saved up for them, but I can’t say the same for these.  While the shades are lovely and the texture is nice, I personally think these are all too easy to dupe (packaging aside).  That being said, I still enjoy pulling them out of my bag and using them, simply because they’re…pretty.  Ehem, I’m still working on a plausible reason.

What do you think of the Dior Addict lipsticks?  Worth the splurge?

~Makeup Morsels

23 thoughts on “My Sephora Haul: Dior Addict Lipstick Review + Swatches

  1. Pretty pretty pretty! Tulle caught my eye, too :D I think I want a slightly browner nude, though. And I want one of the YSL Rouge Voluptes!

    Also…I could barely get these damn things open :P Good thing it didn’t work out for me.

    • I have brown nudes, so I was looking for something a little paler and more ‘nude’ nude. So eloquent :P

      Me too! I was totally lemming Tender Peach…I still am. Maybe next time. Really? At first, I was confused b/c I was pulling from the wrong part (facepalm), but when I figured it out, they opened pretty easily.

  2. Oh niiiiice! Diorkiss looks so pretty on you and omg I wish I could find a color like Tulle!!!! I couldn’t get Diorkiss to show up on me, sadly, and I probably wrote off Tulle just from how it looked in the tube but perhaps I should give it a shot hehe. DUDE! I just bought two of the Burberry Lip Mists though (triple points at Nordstroms this last weekend ^^;;) and I’m in love!! So… I think I probably don’t need anymore lipsticks anytime soon… ^^;;;;; And actually, I think Cinnamon kind of looks on me like Tulle does on you? Hard to tell without a full face shot, I think Cinnamon might be darker. Or my lips are more mauve lol.

    • Thanks Cat! Yeah, Tulle is definitely not the most eye-catching color in the tube, but I really love how it looks on my lips. I think Tulle is the lightest nude in the range *I think* not sure.

      And OMG the Burberry Lip Mists are gorgeous. Which shades do you buy?

  3. Transformation? Hmmm…
    1) When an ordinary girl turns into a beauty
    2) Appliance, gadget, vehicles become robots? LOL

    214 Tulle looks great on you! Fingers crossed that it’ll look as pretty on me, my lips are pretty pigmented as well!

  4. Interesting. I didn’t know they repackaged. I also bought DiorKiss b/c of Kate Moss…lol. It’s my first and possibly last DiorKiss I will own b/c I’m not too impressed. :(

    On a positive note though, I do love the colors on you. :D

  5. I think both colors look lovely on you! I’d be the same way about splurging on these. though they don’t look like normal, more matte lippies, so I’m really intrigued. the packaging is pretty too.

    I’ll have to swatch Diorkiss next time I’m in a Sephora.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

