High End / Lips / Mid End

The Sparkle Never Stops with Urban Decay Stardust Sparkling Lipgloss

Remember when I asked you to cast your votes for my first Urban Decay Holiday 2011 product review?  Well, I really shouldn’t have told you to either vote in the poll, or in the comments.  I couldn’t tell which commenters were actually voting, and which commenters were just commenting on their poll votes…

*confusion ensues in the land of Makeup Morsels*

In the end, I just decided to go with the poll results, and review the Stardust Sparkling Lipglosses first!

If you remember Urban Decay’s Stardust Eyeshadows from one or two years ago, you can think of these as the lipgloss version.  They’re as insanely sparkly on the lips as they are in their rectangular tubes.

Speaking of the tubes, this packaging is a lot more clean and streamlined than what I’m used to seeing from Urban Decay.  I actually love it, since the simple packaging lets the product shine through.  The rubberized, matte black caps are also a nice touch, and I’m liking the fact that the soft brush applicator is small and tight enough that the fibers don’t go flopping and splaying all over the place.

Moving onto the colors:

left to right: Space Cowboy, Andromeda, Glitter Rock

Each shade contains a river of glitter flecks suspended in a clear or sheer base.  As I said before, none of these feel the least bit gritty on my lips, which is surprising considering how much glitter they contain.  However, I don’t agree with Urban Decay on the fact that this is a “hydrating gloss with a buttery, non-sticky feel.”  The gloss is on the thick side, which gives it a cushy-sticky type feel.  For reference, it’s nowhere near as sticky as MAC glosses, but I wouldn’t call it buttery either.  As for scent, I’d describe it as the type of minty that reminds me of candy canes.

Taking lip swatch shots proved to be a difficult task in terms of color accuracy (and then I realized that a good number of you probably have Google Chrome, which isn’t going to show colors accurately anyways).  So what I did was photograph each color twice.  The flash picture is on the left, and the non-flash is on the right.  Each color is somewhere in between the two in terms of intensity/pigmentation.

Space Cowboy:

Andromeda:

And one of the tube color, because it has AWESOME duochrome (sadly, the green doesn’t show on my lips):

Glitter Rock:

Gorgeous, huh?  I’ve tried these over a couple of lipsticks, and they add an amazing effect.  I’m having a hard time picking a favorite out of the three, but I think I’d have to go with Glitter Rock if I’m just wearing them on their own.  It’s funny, because I didn’t think I’d like it when I saw the tube color, but it’s stunning on the lips.  Don’t write off the other two, though, because they’re also S-H-I-N-Y, and layer beautifully.

Wear time on these is average for a sheer gloss: about 2-3 hours.  The nice thing is that even after the gloss has gone, the non-gritty glitter stays on.  And that is why the sparkle never stops, my friends.

Hmm, that could be a song.

Even when the gloss has gone,

The glitter continues to stay on

(And you can top it with lipbalm).

Once on my lips, it then begins,

The sparkle never stops, my friends…

Each tube contains 5.5 ml of product, and retails at $19.  Ingredients list here, for those of you who are curious.

Thumbs up for

The sparkle that never stops, lovely colors, nice applicator and packaging, wonderful layering possibilities.

Thumbs down for

The fact that these are a little bit on the sticky side.  Sticky glosses have never bothered me, but I realize some people prefer a lighter texture.

Thumbs-to-the-side for the price point.  It’s not too expensive, but still on the pricey side for a gloss.

Final decision

Overall, I think these are a worthy addition to the Urban Decay Holiday 2011 lineup.

Are you a glitter lover?  What do you think of these lipglosses?

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were submitted for review, either by a PR firm or directly from the manufacturer.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

19 thoughts on “The Sparkle Never Stops with Urban Decay Stardust Sparkling Lipgloss

  1. I’m not big on lip gloss, so I’m surprised at liking Glitter Rock and Andromeda so much! too bad the duochrome doesn’t transfer on the lips, but it’s nice to hear that these don’t feel gritty (cause I totally figured they would be from just the swatches)

  2. Yay! The lipglosses got my vote…hee hee. ;) These remind me of MAC Dazzleglasses. Glitter Rock is my fave of the three! :D

    (Your blazer sounds fab! As for myself, I don’t have anything in mind atm. I usually just go and check it out…haha)

  3. Totally not a gloss girl, but I’ve been thinking about giving one a shot, just for kicks. Glitter Rock is my favorite, too, but if I picked up a gloss, I’d want it to be something I could layer nicely…probably a coppery color. Torn!!!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

