My Favorite Things / Randomly Beauty Related

A Very Merry DIY + Affordable Holiday Gifts

For those of you who are in the middle of last-minute gift-finding (I proudly raise my hand and wave it around), here’s an extremely easy DIY gift.

These are the two closeup shots I showed you yesterday.  Can you guess what it is?

It’s not baked goods, if that’s what you’re wondering.

*Unnecessary drumroll*

Holiday Scrub!

Now, you may be wondering what the heck is Holiday Scrub?

If that’s the case, it’s probably because I made up the phrase yesterday.  So it stands to reason that you still have no idea what I’m talking about.

Hopefully, this clarifies it:

I’m obsessed with [most] things in jars.  Ready-to-make hot cocoa, bread pudding in a jar, homemade jams, etc.  I had a few small jars sitting around, and I thought the holidays would be the perfect time to do something creative and jar-like.

So I sat around, waiting for my lightbulb moment (I believe that if you wait patiently enough, you’re bound to have an epiphanic moment.  Eventually).  And then, it hit me!

Holiday Scrub

You will need:

Oatmeal and other ingredients (ah, so specific, I know), a food processor/coffee grinder, a jar, and decorative items for the jar

Steps:

1. Eyeball the amount of oatmeal it takes to fill about 2/3 of your jar.  Scoop into your food processor.
2. Choose some other skin-loving ingredients to add to your scrub.  I tossed in a few spoonfuls of sugar, a bag of black tea with vanilla, and a small dash of cinammon.  Alternatively, you could use green tea, milk powder (lactic acid is a great exfoliator), or whatever strikes your fancy.
3. Pulse until everything is well-combined.  Pour into jar.
4. Decorate your jar.  I fancied this one up with a gold wax fleur de lys and a big ribbon bow, but there are lots of things you could do.  Glue on rhinestones, tie a single bow around the middle, or use lace as a stencil and spray paint over the top.
5. Include a ingredients and directions.  You can hand-write this, but I thought it looked cute printed out.  The ingredients are nice, just in case the recipient is allergic to something, or can’t use products containing certain things.  Instead of signing the card, I put ‘Made in (my name which you can’t see because I Photoshopped it out muahaha)’s kitchen’ in the corner.

And there you have it!  I’ve heard that oatmeal is very good for your skin, but if you think the recipient might not want to use this on his/her face, you could write “drop a tablespoon in your bath, or add it to your body wash” under Directions.

And finally, a short list of affordable gifts that caught my eye:

A scrubby bath set, along with other beautiful DIYs.  This is where I got the inspiration for my Holiday Scrub (although as you can see, I eliminated everything that required sewing.  After DIYing my camera purse, I vowed to never touch my sewing machine again unless absolutely necessary.  Not my forte).

A tray of reindeer cookies.  These look easy to make, but if you’re extremely pressed for time, I’m sure you could buy a box of cookies from the supermarket, and stick the other things on.

Slatkin & Co Candles from Bath & Body Works.  They’re running a 2 for $20 (basically, half off) promotion on the 14.5 oz candles, and the seasonal scents are yummy.  My picks are Fireside, Winter Cabin, and Marshmallow Fireside.  Winter and Creamy Pumpkin also seem to be pretty popular.

My last suggestion is anything from the Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics series.  You can pick these up in store or online, and I think they look so beautiful.  I already have both the Brothers Grimm and Hans Christian Andersen fairytales, and am planning to buy the Jane Austen compilation for my friend’s birthday.  Retail price is $20 ($18 online), but B&N usually has 25% off coupons floating around.

Do you DIY any of your holiday gifts?

~Makeup Morsels

9 thoughts on “A Very Merry DIY + Affordable Holiday Gifts

  1. I’m not the DIY type b/c I’m just not creative enough unfortunately. :( But ooh, you got me with this one! I thought it was a baked goodie…hee hee. Really love this gift idea! :D

    Happy Holidays to you!!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

