Beauty Tools / Fragrance / Lips / Randomly Beauty Related / Skincare

The Makeup Morsels 2011 NYE Guide

This year, my New Year’s Eve plans consist of The Hobbit, festive candles, and my electric heating blanket.  While I am all kinds of excited to journey along with Bilbo and Company (for the millionth time), I realize that a guide on optimal blanket heating and Tolkien reading probably isn’t the most useful thing to the majority of my readers.

For those of you who plan to close 2011 with a fun night out, here are the top three things you should consider bringing along with you:

1. Lip balm!  Chapped lips are no fun, and you want to make sure your lipcolor stays strong the whole night.  Prep your lips with a moisturizing balm beforehand, and take it with you for touchups as you party into the wee hours of the night.  Tube balms are the easiest to use on the go, and the ones from My Lip Stuff are a piddling $2.75 each.  While the packaging isn’t the fanciest thing in the world, the 500+ flavors make up for it.  Choose anything from Lavender Lemonade to Bread Crust (ok, maybe not for NYE, but I’m hankering to try that one) to Wine Cooler.  Out of the three flavors I’ve been testing out, Chocolate Coconut is probably my favorite.  I’m usually not one for anything coconut scented, but this combination reminds me of German Chocolate Cake (mmm, cake).  The ingredients list is blissfully short and all natural (sunflower oil, beeswax, cocoa butter, sweet almond oil, castor oil, jojoba oil, avocado oil, aloe vera, essential/flavor oil), and the formula is very similar to my HG Therapino Oil Bar, but with better ingredients.

2. Some sort of perfume container.  If it goes with your outfit, my top pick would be Esme’s Perfume Pendant.  It’s got a hollow enamel egg pendant with a small band of sparkling crystals ’round the middle, and opens to reveal a refillable perfume roll-on.  It’s actually very easy to use, see the instructional video here.  Because the opening is funnel-shaped, I didn’t have any wasted perfume, and the pendant’s magnetic closure ensures that the whole thing stays firmly shut.  One thing I do have to say about this is that the perfume roll-on isn’t attached in any way to the pendant, so be careful not to drop it.  I say this only because I’ve already lost mine that way (but I wouldn’t read too much into that, as I’ve been known to frequently lose my phone and bag, and even my car on one occasion).  The perfume pendant comes in assorted designs and colors, the one I have is available here at £19.99.

The Travalo would be another good option, although I prefer Esme’s version just because I have a thing for jewelry with hidden functions.

Eep!  Worst picture ever, but I couldn’t find the thing that attaches my camera to my tripod.  At least this gives you an idea of the length/size.

3. A pack of blotting papers.  Generally, flash photography isn’t very forgiving if you’re extra-glowy as the night wears on.  A quick blot will fix this, while leaving the rest of your makeup untouched.  I briefly spoke up Tatcha and their fundraising efforts awhile back, but for those of you who haven’t heard of them, their blotting papers are some of the most-loved among beauty bloggers.  I admit to being a little bit skeptical when I first tried these, but they honestly do work better than anything I’ve used in the past (my old favorites were the Boscia green tea papers, but no more!).  The papers are large, incredibly sturdy, and do an amazing job soaking up oil.  I would show you an after picture, but I don’t want to gross you out.  Each sheet is handmade, and contains real gold flakes (don’t worry, they won’t transfer onto your skin) for authenticity.  You curious cats can read the backstory of the gold flakes here.  My only gripe with these is that they are on the expensive side at $15 for 40 sheets, but they do work extremely well, and I never need more than one sheet no matter how much my face starts…glistening.

Tuck everything into a cute wristlet, and you’re ready to dance the night away.  Thank you Hens for the beautiful Kate Spade coin purse!  I may not be using it this NYE, but I’ve already slipped a couple of my favorite lipsticks inside, and I’ll probably be toting this around in 2012.

Also, the box makes me very happy.  Isn’t it pretty?

How are you ringing in 2012?

~Makeup Morsels

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were submitted for review, either by a PR firm or directly from the manufacturer.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

10 thoughts on “The Makeup Morsels 2011 NYE Guide

  1. That perfume egg is so cool! I’ve never heard of it before. Love the Kate Spade too-I just got a wallet from the Seattle Outlet and LOVE it. It’s leopard print.
    My plans are staying home as well-seems like a lot of us are!

  2. We’re going out for dinner at our favorite restaurant (they do a NYE “indulgence” prix fix menu) but then we’re coming home to hang out with the fluffyhead and prolly have a few glasses of champagne and chill. I want to get dressed up for dinner just because I always feel like I have no where to wear nice clothing to, so I may end up doing that…or chickening out and just wearing jeans :P

  3. Good tips! Especially the lip balm. I’m rarely without it, for sure.

    Also, yay! The Hobbit! I’ll probably be playing video games or watching movies or something for NYE. Boy howdy, I’m adventurous! ;)

  4. Okay, the travalo thing is sweet. It looks like a delicious cadbury mini egg. I love those. I love pink. It’s a win win. So I’m going to end up going to a club to ring in the new year. Not the most exciting but I really didn’t want to spend $100+ this year on an overrated hotel gala with less than a full bar and annoying drink tickets. Now… I only have an hour left to figure out what to wear.

    I wish you all the best in 2012! Happy New Year! :) xoxo

    • That’s actually the Esme pendant :) Sorry, realized my wording wasn’t very clear there! But agreed, it looks like a cadbury mini egg. And it’s sparkly. I love it.

      Hope you had a fun NYE! I wish you a fantastic 2012

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

