Hauls / Life & Travel

New Year’s Resolutions, Home Fragrance Haul, and Lots of Rambling

Happy New Year, everyone!  For those of you who are new readers, or for those of you who have been commenting since The Wigeon was born, thank you for all of your support in 2011.  I’ve so enjoyed getting to know new beauty bloggers (and Lipstick Bandits), and I hope 2012 brings even more beauty-blogging-related-wonderfulness.

I took a look at my resolutions from last year, and I’ve done pretty well with them overall.  Except for the one where I said I would be less lax about washing my brushes.  If anything, I’ve gotten even more lazy about washing them every week.  I know, I know, I’ll go off to a corner and hang my head in shame.

Yesterday, I rang in the new year as planned (my plans were to read The Hobbit under an electric heating blanket.  I lead an exciting life).  I also got to see one of my closest friends for the first time since summer, which made me really happy.  All in all, it was a good day.

But I started thinking about the past year, and I realized that I don’t have quite as much energy lately.  Now, I’m going to chalk that up partly to college applications (the ultimate scapegoat) and the fact that I’ve cut back on caffeine, but I don’t think it’s just that.  If I look back at the past year, a few things happened that made me feel slightly disillusioned, and I let them affect me.  In all honesty, I shouldn’t have let any of it get to me (eek, steering this post into happier pastures).  So for 2012, I’m going to start throwing myself into things again.  I know that I still work hard, but I don’t have that insane drive I did before, and I want to feel like everything I do is 100% fulfilling because I go for it 110%.

That’s my resolution for the year :)  Oh, and washing my brushes.  But let’s be realistic here, the first is much easier to stick to.  Anyways, I would love to hear your resolutions for the year!  And if anyone has any tips for sticking to a weekly brush-washing routine, I would love to hear those too (unless the tip is: just do it!  That hasn’t worked so well for me).

Onto more lighthearted things, I’ve recently become obsessed with home fragrance.  If we’re playing the blame game here, I wholeheartedly blame Larie and Liz.  That’s right ladies, I would never have sniffed that first candle if it weren’t for the two of you!

As I was wandering around the mall with my friend yesterday, I spotted a Yankee Candle store.  Now you have to understand, I thought I was seeing things.  Up until that moment, I was positive that there was no Yankee Candle store in the mall.  So of course, I had to go in, just to confirm that I wasn’t hallucinating.

The first thing I saw when I walked in were wax tarts.  For $0.50 each.  Fifty cents.  I did the rational thing, and grabbed 11 of them o___o

Frosty Air, White Christmas, Harvest, Amber Glow, Farmer’s Market, Pumpkin Pie, Gardenia, Lakeside Birch, Maple Pancakes, Sweet Honeysuckle, Autumn Leaves

I haven’t had the chance to use these yet, but let me know if you want reviews on any of the scents.  And in the meantime, need I even say that this is a good deal?  If you have a Yankee Candle store near you, go take advantage of it!

Er, that sounds slightly inappropriate.

Did I just make it worse?

I give up.

~Makeup Morsels

20 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions, Home Fragrance Haul, and Lots of Rambling

  1. I tried a couple of these scents a few years ago and I loved sooooo much. But, here they’re almost impossible to find :(

  2. Hahahaha. Happy New Year, MM! And oh, I am terrible at washing brushes too!!!! That was one of my goals for this year. I went out and bought some EcoTools brushes so that I have multiples of the basics now – I’m hoping that will work, since now I will always have clean brushes that are ready to use, rather than having to wait for my only set to dry. If you get any good tips, send them my way – I am HORRIBLE at brush maintenance ._. What do you use to clean your brushes, anyway?

    • hahahah, good to know I’m not the only one :P That’s what I did too (buy some multiples), but it gets even worse, since instead of having to washing the only set I have, I just use the extras. I use a regular bar soap to clean my brushes, usually Dove or Ivory or whatever I have lying around). I’ll swirl the brush around on the soap, and it helps that it’s white so I can tell when the product is gone. Then, I’ll do a second cleaning with cheap conditioner. Really cheap ones are fine b/c they’re usually loaded with silicones, which make my brushes nice and soft.

  3. Happy new year!! And good luck on your resolutions! I’m still working on mine at the moment hahaha.

    & hm, you know honestly I really dislike yankee candle stores… I think they smell overwhelmingly of cheap synthetic cedar plus a melange of other stuff so I try to avoid them like the plague. Unfortunately it means I’ve never been able to take advantage of any of their products lol. But! I did brave B&BW for my annual hand soap stocking up and while I was at it I took a good whiff of (way too many) candles and ended up with a Fireside votive as per your recommendation. :D It’s really lovely and something I would actually wear as a perfume! I’m thinking if there are any big candles left towards the end of their sale I might end up buying one… it’s so nice compared to so many of their other candles…! I thought about Marshmallow Fireside too, and… may still consider getting a votive size candle, but the thing is, the whole point of me burning candles in my room is so that my room doesn’t smell like food from the kitchen! Therefore, I’m pretty much disinclined to buy any food smelling candles… even though B&BW has some pretty realistic ones… ^^;;

    • Thank you! Hope you have a wonderful 2012, and good luck with any resolutions you end up making.

      I agree about the smell, it’s why I usually don’t go inside (same deal with Lush for me). But the huge semi-annual clearance banners plus the 75% off display made me go in, I just tried not to breathe LOL
      I’m glad you like Fireside! It’s still my absolute favorite candle from B&BW, but no one else I’ve showed it to likes it at all :( But oh, what do they know?

      • Aw thanks hon :)

        & LOLLLL. I can definitely see how the 75% off signs and clearance banners would persuade you to brave the store hahaha, that’s the only reason I go into B&BW twice a year too hehehe. & awww LOL. I imagine that most people I know wouldn’t like Fireside either, but I know a lot of people who would adore it! It actually reminds me a lot of Sonoma Scent Studio’s Winter Woods (except WW is crisper and a lot heavier on the cedar). Actually it reminds me a lot of a lot of Laurie’s creations, and my fave is Tabac Aurea and someone on the FB Fragrance board said her husband thought it smelled like an old leather boot left out in the rain and then microwaved. LOLLLLL. I happen to think it smells amazing, but oh well. :)

        • Yum! I heard Slatkin Fireside was actually very similar to the Henri Bendel Fireside Candle (not quite as complex, but supposedly really close), but of course much cheaper. I want to get another 3 wick since it’s a seasonal scent, but I think I’m going to wait until the price drops more (not that $10 is too bad, but I heard towards the end they get as low as $5, and Fireside doesn’t seem to be that popular). I did pick up the $3 HFO though, so I can’t wait to mix that with other scents to give them more depth. Never heard of Tabac Aurea until now, but it sound so delicious. And LOLL, I think that’s what most of my friends/family were thinking when they smelled Fireside. Guess it’s not for everyone!

          Oh by the way, have you smelled the Bottega Veneta EDP yet? It sounds like something I would love…expensive soft buttery leather? Gimme :P

    • Thank you, and thanks for reading my blog this year even with your busy move and all xx

      My oil warmer gets here on Tuesday, so for now they’re just scenting the inside of my drawer :P But I am excited!

  4. Hey, those were a bargain and you’re welcome! lol

    Love you, your blog and am so glad we met (I think via Larie? Or Twitter in general.) Good luck with washing the brushes and keeping a fine balance between chilling/staying active like a good hobbit. :) xoxo

    • LOL I didn’t give two hoots about candles before you guys. Now I have to sit on my hands so I don’t run out and buy more. Love your blog as well, your empties posts are brilliant. And hmm, I don’t even remember! But I’m glad we met. Thanks, I will do my best to be a good hobbit :P

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

